Our Employees

RSS Feed

Medicine at Michigan editors seek faculty accolades

May 3, 2019

The editors of Medicine at Michigan are in need of faculty accolades for the Honors section of the summer 2019 issue. Accolades include awards won and positions/leadership appointments granted outside of U-M. Medicine at Michigan does not publish word of grant awardees or internal U-M promotions or appointments. If you have an accolade to share, please email medicineatmichigan@umich.edu by May 16. To review previous accolades, click here. Website: http://www.medicineatmichigan.org/faculty/2018/fall/honors

30 units named organization’s top performers for hand hygiene compliance

May 3, 2019

Congratulations to 30 units across Michigan Medicine, which were named the top hand hygiene compliance performers for the month of April! The units include: PCTU, 11W, 12E, 4A, 4B, 4C, 5B, 6A, 6C, CCMU, CICU, adult dialysis, 8C, 8DNS, Brandon NICU, CVC5, CVC OR, radiology prep/recovery, Mott OR, MPU prep/recovery, MSSU Blue, pediatric dialysis, SSS, TBICU, VV OR, VV PACU, EVS, transport/lift, lab/phlebotomy and RC. All of those areas will be added to the Infection Prevention & Epidemiology Hand Hygiene Honor Roll, along with: CV-ICU, 12W, 7B, MSSU Maize, PFANS, 5C, PICU, 5A, pediatric ED, 8B, SICU, 8A, Neuro ICU,…

You’re invited: Nurses Week kickoff event

May 2, 2019

All members of the Michigan Medicine community are invited to attend a Nurses Week kickoff event on Friday, May 3 in the Dow Auditorium and Towsley Lobby. The event will be held from 11 a.m. until 1 p.m. and no registration is required. Just stop by and have some fun while celebrating the important work nurses perform every day at Michigan Medicine! Here’s a brief schedule of events: 11 a.m.: Brief remarks by Nancy May, D.N.P., RN-BC, NEA-BC, interim chief nurse executive; Devin Carr, D.N.P., R.N., ACNS-BC, NEA-BC, chief nursing officer of UH/CVC, and Jesus Cepero, Ph.D., R.N., NEA-BC, chief…

8D honored for patient safety efforts

May 2, 2019

Congratulations to the faculty and staff of 8D at University Hospital, which recently went 365 days without a CLABSI (Central Line Associated Blood Stream Infection)! For its important work, the team…

Engaged in the experience: Patients, families, employees celebrate Patient Experience Week

May 1, 2019

Well, that was quite an experience! Last week, events across Michigan Medicine brought together faculty, staff, students, patients and families to discuss, celebrate and engage in…

U-M Medical School faculty can choose from three dates to attend spring meeting

April 30, 2019

U-M Medical School faculty are encouraged to attend the spring Executive Faculty Meeting, where they will receive updates on two important initiatives. Leadership will highlight the Medical School’s new strategic plan and provide an overview of proposed bylaw changes, which will go before the executive faculty for a vote in June. In order to accommodate schedules, the same meeting will be held during three different dates, times and locations on the medical campus and at the North Campus Research Complex: Monday, May 6 When: 4-5 p.m. Where: Building 10, South Atrium, North Campus Research Complex Wednesday, May 8 When: 7-8 a.m.…

CVC 5 earns patient safety recognition

April 30, 2019

Congratulations to CVC 5 for going a full year without a CLABSI (Central Line Associated Blood Stream Infection)! For their efforts, the unit earned a 365 Days of Safety Award from…

A Day in the Life: Diane Collin, physician assistant

April 29, 2019

Across the organization, thousands of employees spend their days carrying out exceptional patient care, education and research. But each individual’s role is unique — and with…

Did you bring your child to work? Let Headlines see the fun they have!

April 25, 2019

It's Take Your Child to Work Day, giving you a chance to show your kids what you do on a daily basis. As a reminder, please consider the following to ensure…