Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

Mmeje receives Passion for Public Health award

October 9, 2018

Okeoma Mmeje, M.D., recently received the Passion for Public Health award from the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. Mmeje, an assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology at Michigan Medicine and a member of the U-M Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation, was recognized for her commitment to connecting her work to public health and positive impact on the health care system. Mmeje was recruited to U-M as part of the Presidential Admission Scholar program focused on Global HIV/AIDS in 2013. Her research focuses on national and international reproductive health, expedited partner therapy (prevention of sexually transmitted infections) as…

LaVaughn Palma-Davis honored for 30 years of service

October 1, 2018

Following a distinguished career spanning more than 30 years, LaVaughn Palma-Davis will retire from U-M in November. Palma-Davis has served as a leader in both the health care system and universitywide. She most recently served as the senior director for Health and Well-Being Services, providing guidance and support to more than 80 employees in numerous programs and services. Palma-Davis' commitment to health and well-being was instrumental in creating MHealthy, U-M’s wellness and risk reduction program. She also oversaw employee assistance counseling services; occupational health clinical services; and Project Healthy Schools, a…

Help celebrate Marna Flaherty-Robb’s retirement

September 20, 2018

Marna Flaherty-Robb is retiring on Nov. 1 after nine years as chief nursing informatics officer. Marna designed and developed the organization's Nursing Informatics Department and has successfully transitioned the nursing community into innovative and creative thinkers around technology that impacts the care nurses provide to patients and their families. Her gift as a strategic thinker has outlined a road map for the department that will support its continued successful partnership with Health Information Technology & Services. Please join the team in thanking Marna for all the contributions she has made to Michigan Medicine's nursing community. A retirement reception will take…

David Fox, M.D., honored for service as chief of the Division of Rheumatology

September 17, 2018

Join faculty and staff in honoring David Fox, M.D., for his 28 years of service as chief of the Division of Rheumatology. A member of the faculty of the U-M School of Medicine since 1985, Fox, professor of internal medicine, became chief of the Division of Rheumatology in 1990. In addition, he directs the U-M Clinical Autoimmunity Center of Excellence. He is author of more than 230 scientific papers and book chapters and has served on the editorial board of Arthritis & Rheumatism,…

Sonnenday chosen as inaugural holder of Darrell A. Campbell, Jr. M.D. Collegiate Professorship in Transplant Surgery

September 17, 2018

Faculty, staff, family and friends recently attended the joyous inauguration of the Darrell A. Campbell Jr., M.D., Collegiate Professorship in Transplant Surgery in the U-M Medical School. The endowment honors the longtime U-M transplant surgeon whose contributions to clinical care, research and medical education have had a profound influence on Michigan Medicine. “Skip” Campbell, as most people know him, is a nationally-recognized leader in in transplant surgery. The professorship is a perpetual acknowledgement of his impact. Chris Sonnenday, M.D. is the inaugural holder of the Darrell A. Campbell Jr., M.D., Collegiate…

Come celebrate the retirement of Peggy Hoag!

September 5, 2018

After 45 years of outstanding service to the organization, Peggy Hoag will be retiring this month. A luncheon to celebrate Peggy’s career as an administrative assistant senior with the Department of Neurosurgery will be held on Wednesday, Sept. 5 in the Towsley Center Dining Room on Floor 1 from 11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. Brief remarks will take place at approximately 12:30. Please join us in celebrating Peggy’s career and her contributions. And thank you, Peggy, for your dedication to Michigan Medicine!

Medical Educational Consulting Group earns student service leadership grant

August 30, 2018

Congratulations to the Medical Educational Consulting Group (@UMMSMedECG) for winning a 2018 Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Student Service Leadership Project (MSSLP) grant! The group’s project was one of three selected for funding this year. The project will provide leadership and business training for medical students through partnerships with community health care organizations. Click here to learn more.

James Leonard, Jr., M.D., receives Lifetime Achievement award from AANEM

August 30, 2018

The Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation extends a hearty congratulations to James Leonard, Jr., M.D., who will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement award from the American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine.  Dr. Leonard, former chair of the Department of PM&R, has served the AANEM in many ways over the years. The Lifetime Achievement Award is AANEM’s highest honor and recognizes an AANEM member who has been a major contributor in the fields of neuromuscular and electrodiagnostic medicine through teaching, research, and scholarly publications. Congratulations on this well-deserved honor! Learn more by clicking here.

Ypsilanti Pediatrics completes successful BCBSM survey

August 7, 2018

Congratulations to Ypsilanti Pediatrics who recently completed a successful survey visit with Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Michigan (BCBSM) for the Patient-Centered Medical Home and Neighborhood (PCMH-N) program! Each year, BCBSM randomly selects 1-2 Michigan Medicine primary care (Medical Home) and 1-2 specialty (Neighborhood) sites to participate in this survey process. The sites spend significant time preparing for these visits. The PCMH philosophy is built on 13 initiatives. Each initiative focuses on a domain of function and a set of defined capabilities/standards that will enable the site to achieve the vision for that domain of function. The sites are required to…