Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

Michigan Medicine leader honored with prestigious AGA recognition award

February 5, 2019

AGA’s highest honor is presented to Michigan Medicine’s John I. Allen, M.D., M.B.A., A.G.A.F. The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) has announced the 2019 recipients of the annual recognition awards, given in honor of outstanding contributions and achievements in gastroenterology. “AGA members honor their colleagues and peers for outstanding contributions to the field of gastroenterology by nominating them for the AGA Recognition Awards,” said David A. Lieberman, MD, AGAF, president of the AGA Institute. “We are proud to announce the 2019 AGA Recognition Prize winners, who are just a few of…

United Way of Washtenaw County names Lori Pierce, M.D., 2019 Woman of the Year

January 4, 2019

Lori Pierce, M.D., vice provost for academic and faculty affairs, has been selected by the United Way of Washtenaw County (UWWC) Women United group as the 2019 Woman of the Year. Pierce will be honored at the UWWC’s Power of the Purse event on March 14 at the Kensington Hotel. “Dr. Pierce exemplifies what the Power of the Purse initiative is about: women taking action to address community issues,” said Pam Smith, president of the United Way of Washtenaw County, and member of the Power of the Purse committee. “We are thrilled to honor her achievements and leadership at our…

Pamela Baden-Collins to retire after 25 years of service

December 17, 2018

Pamela Baden-Collins will be retiring after 25 years of service at U-M. Pam began her career in the Radiation Oncology Department where she worked for about two years. From there, she went to OB/Gyn and eventually found herself working for general surgery and urology where she has been a valued member of the team for 20 years. Thank you, Pam, for your dedicated service to our front desk team. You will be missed!

Horace Bomar to retire from the University of Michigan Medical School at the end of 2018

December 7, 2018

Horace Bomar has been a valued leader of the Facilities Management and Planning team since he created this high-performing unit in 1986.  Over the next 32 years, he nurtured the growth of a team that continues to provide outstanding service to the Medical School and Michigan Medicine in its reorganized and expanded form. Bomar spearheaded countless facility changes during his time at U-M, including serving on the team that managed the demolition of Old Main Hospital and its connection to the Medical Science Building complex.  He led every major and minor demolition, renovation and new construction project at the Medical…

Michigan Medicine and Henry Ford participate in first American Liver Foundation-Michigan Chapter’s “Academic Debates”

December 4, 2018

On Thursday, November 29, Drs. Sean Bhalla, Brian Nadeau, Vincent Chen and Mary Thomson of the University of Michigan’s Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology participated in the first American Liver Foundation-Michigan Chapter’s “Academic Debates” in Novi, Michigan. They participated in the event alongside with Fellow representatives from Henry Ford Hospital and everyone presented compelling data-driven presentations, coupled with succinct evidence-based point-by-point rebuttals on 2 topics. The topics for the debate were challenging in nature and very current to key topics in liver disease. Drs. Bhalla and Nadeau debated the argument for needle exchange programs and the reduction of HCV transmission…

Don Tomford Honored For 35+ Years Service

November 30, 2018

Don has worked at Michigan Medicine for over 35 years in various roles throughout the institution. He started as a housekeeping supervisor, moved to hospital finance, was a long serving chief…

Denise Bell’s Retirement

November 14, 2018

Denise Bell is retiring after 31 years of service at the University of Michigan. Denise began her career in the Design and Construction Office at the UM Health System. From there she went to M-Care and eventually found herself with the Department of Internal Medicine where she will retire as the Facilities Administrative Manager after 11 years. Please join us in thanking Denise for her contributions to the Department and wishing her well in her upcoming retirement on November 29 from 1-3 pm at UH South F4353. Remarks will begin at 1:30.

Dawn Meyer’s Retirement

November 14, 2018

After 15 years at the University of Michigan, Dawn Meyer will be retiring from the Internal Medicine Department. Dawn has been a tremendous resource and consummate team player throughout her University of Michigan career. Thank you, Dawn, for your contributions and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.

Leslie Kamil’s Retirement

November 13, 2018

It is with gratitude and heartfelt good wishes that we announce the retirement of Leslie Kamil, OTR/L, MS, JD, who has been a valued member of the Michigan Medicine health care team for 46+ years. Leslie has witnessed and participated in many remarkable changes in our organization during her long and productive career. Leslie spent her first 20 years as an occupational therapist and Director of that Division. She then moved to the Health System Legal Office for 8 years and started the Health System Compliance Office with Dr. Ted Sanford in 2000. Her Compliance Office legal interns and position…