Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

Chiodo and Spires Named PM&R Associate Chairs

March 25, 2016

The Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation is pleased to announce the appointment of Tony Chiodo, MD, MBA as the Associate Chair of Clinical Affairs. Dr. Chiodo is a Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. In his role as Associate Chair, Dr. Chiodo will be charged with helping to develop and implement the clinical strategy for the department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. He will work with leaders in PM&R and in the Medical Center on expansion of the inpatient rehabilitation program; greater involvement in post-acute care; and our strategies relating to expanding to a statewide network. In his current…

Dr. Vahakn Shahinian research highlighted in Kidney News

March 23, 2016

Dr. Vahakn Shahinian, associate professor of internal medicine and faculty at the Kidney Epidemiology and Cost Center at the School of Public Health, was recently highlighted in the Feb. 2016 issue of the American Society of Nephrology’s Kidney News. He discusses his latest research findings on the front page of the issue in the article Higher Rates of Preventive Care Seen for Dialysis Patients Who Visit Primary Care Physicians. To view the article:

U-M researchers help form National Agenda for Lupus

March 23, 2016

Dr. Emily Somers, associate professor of internal medicine, and Dr. Afton Hassett, associate research scientist in the department of anesthesiology, were part of a group of subject matter experts that convened in 2015 to help develop and contribute to a new National Public Health Agenda for Lupus. The Agenda was distributed by the National Association of Chronic Disease Directors (NACDD) and the Lupus Foundation of America, with funding from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and outlines strategies and recommendations towards a multi-faceted public health approach to lupus. To view the agenda and learn more:

Eva Feldman, MD, PhD, receives National Top Physician Award

March 18, 2016

New York -- University of Michigan physician and researcher Eva L. Feldman, MD, PhD, will be honored as one of America’s top doctors at the 11th Annual National Physician of the Year Awards, to be held March 21, 2016, in New York. Presented by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., the awards annually recognize and honor exemplary physicians practicing in communities throughout the United States. Dr. Feldman is one of three recipients of the Clinical Excellence Award. “It is such an honor to be recognized, but this is truly the result of tremendous teamwork,” said Dr. Feldman, the Russell N. DeJong Professor…

Genetics Ph.D. candidate wins national graduate student award

March 15, 2016

This week, Emily Maclary will defend her doctoral thesis for research in the laboratory of Sundeep Kalantry, Ph.D. in the Medical School’s Department of Human Genetics. It’s the culmination of five years of work aimed at understanding epigenetic mechanisms through the study of X-chromosome inactivation. But her work has already garnered a major national award, placing her among the nation’s top basic biomedical science graduate students. Maclary was recently named one of 12 winners of the Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award sponsored by the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. She’ll receive the award and give a talk on her…

Give from Within: Victors for Michigan

March 9, 2016

This month, a volunteer committee of faculty and staff who care deeply about the mission of the University of Michigan – and its people – will be reaching out to the…

U-M cardiologist earns state’s top patient safety award

March 8, 2016

The Michigan Health & Hospital Association presented its MHA Keystone Center Patient Safety & Quality Leadership Award to University of Michigan Frankel Cardiovascular Center cardiologist Hitinder Gurm, M.D., during the 2016…

Recognize a department for reducing ergonomic risks

March 7, 2016

Nominations are now being accepted for the university’s annual MHealthy Ergonomics Awards for Departments. Any faculty or staff member can nominate a department or unit for reducing ergonomic risk factors by…