Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

Ellen Meisenbach Retiring

April 21, 2016

Ellen Meisenbach, administrative assistant in the Cancer Center clinical operations administration suite, is retiring. Her last day will be May 6. Ellen has worked at the University of Michigan 30 years,…

Recognition by the American Society of Addiction Medicine

April 20, 2016

Ypsilanti, MI— Dr. Herb Malinoff is being recognized for his inclusive work with Pain and Addiction and will accept the 2016 annual award from the American Association of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) on April 16 in Baltimore, MD. The Board of Directors of ASAM will award Dr. Malinoff at the April annual meeting; he will receive this honor “for outstanding contributions to the growth and vitality of our Society (ASAM), for thoughtful leadership in the field and for deep understanding of the art and science of addiction medicine.” ASAM’s 47th Annual Meeting is being held April 14-17 in Baltimore. According to…

Susan Garrett retiring after 47 years in pharmacy

March 30, 2016

Sue Garrett has been in the pharmacy profession for almost 47 years. The last 15 of them have been here at the University of Michigan as one of our pharmacy buyers. Please join us as we celebrate her retirement on March 31st from 2 to 3:30 in the Ford Auditorium Lobby. Please stop in to congratulate her on her successful career and to wish her "Aloha" as she begins a new chapter in her life.

2016 Outstanding BSW Award Recipient

March 30, 2016

Amanda Schoettinger, LLBSW, has been named the 2016 recipient of the Outstanding BSW Award! Amanda was nominated for this prestigious award by Veronique Mosby, Sarah Colbert, Nan McBride, & Loulie Meynard "Amanda Schoettinger is a stellar example of a competent, innovative, and accomplished social worker. Her achievements represent significant success by guiding a struggling program into the mainstream and providing the infrastructure to ensure its long-term viability. By incorporating BSWs among her recruits, she has provided an extraordinary opportunity for those volunteers to gain hands-on experience in direct patient care. Amanda’s infectious enthusiasm and determination to see tasks through draw…

2016 Award for Excellence in Social Work

March 30, 2016

Kathryn Voelkner, MSW, is the recipient of the 2016 Beverly Jean Howard Award for Excellence in Social Work Nominated by: Laura Hirshbein & Laura Nitzberg Kathi is a skilled and talented clinician and has worked in many areas in the Department of Social Work. She is an empathetic, gifted clinician who radiates kindness and empathy. She is able to engage with a wide range of patients and handles angry, frightened families with sensitivity. She is very knowledgeable about psychiatric illness and is seen as an expert by medical students, psychiatric residents, attending psychiatrists, and her social work colleagues. Her calm…

Chiodo and Spires Named PM&R Associate Chairs

March 25, 2016

The Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation is pleased to announce the appointment of Tony Chiodo, MD, MBA as the Associate Chair of Clinical Affairs. Dr. Chiodo is a Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. In his role as Associate Chair, Dr. Chiodo will be charged with helping to develop and implement the clinical strategy for the department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. He will work with leaders in PM&R and in the Medical Center on expansion of the inpatient rehabilitation program; greater involvement in post-acute care; and our strategies relating to expanding to a statewide network. In his current…

Dr. Vahakn Shahinian research highlighted in Kidney News

March 23, 2016

Dr. Vahakn Shahinian, associate professor of internal medicine and faculty at the Kidney Epidemiology and Cost Center at the School of Public Health, was recently highlighted in the Feb. 2016 issue of the American Society of Nephrology’s Kidney News. He discusses his latest research findings on the front page of the issue in the article Higher Rates of Preventive Care Seen for Dialysis Patients Who Visit Primary Care Physicians. To view the article:

U-M researchers help form National Agenda for Lupus

March 23, 2016

Dr. Emily Somers, associate professor of internal medicine, and Dr. Afton Hassett, associate research scientist in the department of anesthesiology, were part of a group of subject matter experts that convened in 2015 to help develop and contribute to a new National Public Health Agenda for Lupus. The Agenda was distributed by the National Association of Chronic Disease Directors (NACDD) and the Lupus Foundation of America, with funding from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and outlines strategies and recommendations towards a multi-faceted public health approach to lupus. To view the agenda and learn more:

Eva Feldman, MD, PhD, receives National Top Physician Award

March 18, 2016

New York -- University of Michigan physician and researcher Eva L. Feldman, MD, PhD, will be honored as one of America’s top doctors at the 11th Annual National Physician of the Year Awards, to be held March 21, 2016, in New York. Presented by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., the awards annually recognize and honor exemplary physicians practicing in communities throughout the United States. Dr. Feldman is one of three recipients of the Clinical Excellence Award. “It is such an honor to be recognized, but this is truly the result of tremendous teamwork,” said Dr. Feldman, the Russell N. DeJong Professor…