Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

Andrew Tidball earns postdoctoral research fellowship

June 23, 2016

Andrew Tidball, Ph.D. received a postdoctoral research fellowship from the American Epilepsy Society and Wishes for Elliott: Advancing SCN8A Research. He was lauded for his work on "Mechanisms and Drug Discovery in SCN8A Patient iPSC-Derived Neurons." Tidball's mentors are Jack Parent, M.D., and Lori Isom, Ph.D.

Several UMHS team members bring home EMMY awards

June 22, 2016

UMHS team members recently earned EMMY awards from the Michigan Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The first award was earned by the team that put together…

Linda Larin’s “Inspired to Change” Honored with Bugbee Falk Book Award

June 14, 2016

Linda R. Larin, MBA, FACCA, FACHE, associate hospital director and chief administrative officer of the University of Michigan Frankel Cardiovascular Center, is the recipient of the 2016 Bugbee Falk Book Award…

Timothy R.B. Johnson, M.D. earns Rudi Ansbacher Leadership Award

June 8, 2016

Congratulations to Dr. Timothy R.B. Johnson, who recently received the Rudi Ansbacher Leadership Award for Support of Women in Healthcare at the UMHS Leadership Summit for Women event, which took place…

Paul Castillo Named in Becker’s Hospital Review “150 CFOs to Know 2016”

June 8, 2016

Congratulations to UMHS Chief Financial Officer Paul Castillo on recently being named a "CFO to Know" in Becker's Hospital Review 2016 list of "150 Hospital and Health System CFOs to Know."…

GI faculty earn awards and recognition at DDW16

May 24, 2016

During Digestive Disease Week, the world’s largest gathering of digestive disease researchers and physicians, University of Michigan faculty and staff earned awards and recognition from colleagues in gastroenterology. Those honored include: • Graham Brady, M.D., Ph.D., who earned the DDW Basic Science Travel Award, AGA-GRG Fellow Abstract Prize. The DDW travel awards were created to encourage trainees to become more involved in digestive disease research. • John Carethers, M.D., chair of the U-M Department of Internal Medicine, who earned the Gastrointestinal Oncology Section Research Mentor Award from the AGA Institute Council. Awardees have committed themselves to training young investigators and…

Two faculty named Distinguished University Professors

May 20, 2016

Two University of Michigan faculty members with ties to the Medical School are two of nine campus-wide to be named Distinguished University Professors (DUPs) — one of the highest honors the…

Inauguration of the Alan B. Leichtman, M.D. Collegiate Professorship

May 12, 2016

John M. Carethers, M.D., John G. Searle Professor of Internal Medicine, Chair, Department of Internal Medicine, cordially invites you to the inauguration of the Alan B. Leichtman, M.D. Collegiate Professorship in Transplant Nephrology and the installation of Milagros D. Samaniego-Picota, M.D. as the first Alan B. Leichtman, M.D. Collegiate Professor of Transplant Nephrology. Thursday, June 2, 2016, 5:00 p.m. Ceremony, D. Dan and Betty Kahn Auditorium, A. Alfred Taubman Biomedical Science Research Building To reply by Thursday, May 26, or for more information, please email Jane Bronson at

Psychiatry professor inducted into National Academy of Sciences

May 6, 2016

A University of Michigan professor with an appointment in the Department of Psychiatry is one of four U-M faculty members recently inducted into the National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Susan A.…