Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

Joyce Palmer, RN Retires

July 5, 2016

After 35 years of service, Joyce Palmer will be retiring on July 8, 2016. Joyce has worked in the Post Anesthesia Care Unit for the past 10 years. Prior to that she worked for 15 years in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit and 10 years in the Cardiac Procedures Unit/Echo. Please join us to celebrate with Joyce on July 8, 2016, 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m., in room #1B342-UH (OR Classroom).

Martha Funnell inducted into the American Academy of Nursing

July 4, 2016

Department of Learning Health Sciences faculty Martha Funnell, MS, RN, CDE was among 164 nurses to be inducted into the American Academy of Nursing. The inductees will be honored at a ceremony to be held during the Academy's annual policy conference, Transforming Health, Driving Policy, which will take place October 20-22, 2016 in Washington, D.C. The Academy is made up of about 2,900 members who are nursing's most accomplished leaders in education, management, practice and research. Fellows are recognized for their extraordinary nursing careers and contributions to nursing science. Martha is an Associate Research Scientist of Learning Health Sciences in…

Susan Mychajlonka, RN Retires

June 27, 2016

Susan Mychajlonka, RN will be retiring on June 30, 2016 with over 22 years of service. She has worked in the Post Anesthesia Care Unit since 2002. We wish her well in this new chapter of life.

Andrew Tidball earns postdoctoral research fellowship

June 23, 2016

Andrew Tidball, Ph.D. received a postdoctoral research fellowship from the American Epilepsy Society and Wishes for Elliott: Advancing SCN8A Research. He was lauded for his work on "Mechanisms and Drug Discovery in SCN8A Patient iPSC-Derived Neurons." Tidball's mentors are Jack Parent, M.D., and Lori Isom, Ph.D.

Several UMHS team members bring home EMMY awards

June 22, 2016

UMHS team members recently earned EMMY awards from the Michigan Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The first award was earned by the team that put together…

Linda Larin’s “Inspired to Change” Honored with Bugbee Falk Book Award

June 14, 2016

Linda R. Larin, MBA, FACCA, FACHE, associate hospital director and chief administrative officer of the University of Michigan Frankel Cardiovascular Center, is the recipient of the 2016 Bugbee Falk Book Award…

Paul Castillo Named in Becker’s Hospital Review “150 CFOs to Know 2016”

June 8, 2016

Congratulations to UMHS Chief Financial Officer Paul Castillo on recently being named a "CFO to Know" in Becker's Hospital Review 2016 list of "150 Hospital and Health System CFOs to Know."…

Timothy R.B. Johnson, M.D. earns Rudi Ansbacher Leadership Award

June 8, 2016

Congratulations to Dr. Timothy R.B. Johnson, who recently received the Rudi Ansbacher Leadership Award for Support of Women in Healthcare at the UMHS Leadership Summit for Women event, which took place…

GI faculty earn awards and recognition at DDW16

May 24, 2016

During Digestive Disease Week, the world’s largest gathering of digestive disease researchers and physicians, University of Michigan faculty and staff earned awards and recognition from colleagues in gastroenterology. Those honored include: • Graham Brady, M.D., Ph.D., who earned the DDW Basic Science Travel Award, AGA-GRG Fellow Abstract Prize. The DDW travel awards were created to encourage trainees to become more involved in digestive disease research. • John Carethers, M.D., chair of the U-M Department of Internal Medicine, who earned the Gastrointestinal Oncology Section Research Mentor Award from the AGA Institute Council. Awardees have committed themselves to training young investigators and…