Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

GI faculty earn awards and recognition at DDW16

May 24, 2016

During Digestive Disease Week, the world’s largest gathering of digestive disease researchers and physicians, University of Michigan faculty and staff earned awards and recognition from colleagues in gastroenterology. Those honored include: • Graham Brady, M.D., Ph.D., who earned the DDW Basic Science Travel Award, AGA-GRG Fellow Abstract Prize. The DDW travel awards were created to encourage trainees to become more involved in digestive disease research. • John Carethers, M.D., chair of the U-M Department of Internal Medicine, who earned the Gastrointestinal Oncology Section Research Mentor Award from the AGA Institute Council. Awardees have committed themselves to training young investigators and…

Two faculty named Distinguished University Professors

May 20, 2016

Two University of Michigan faculty members with ties to the Medical School are two of nine campus-wide to be named Distinguished University Professors (DUPs) — one of the highest honors the…

Inauguration of the Alan B. Leichtman, M.D. Collegiate Professorship

May 12, 2016

John M. Carethers, M.D., John G. Searle Professor of Internal Medicine, Chair, Department of Internal Medicine, cordially invites you to the inauguration of the Alan B. Leichtman, M.D. Collegiate Professorship in Transplant Nephrology and the installation of Milagros D. Samaniego-Picota, M.D. as the first Alan B. Leichtman, M.D. Collegiate Professor of Transplant Nephrology. Thursday, June 2, 2016, 5:00 p.m. Ceremony, D. Dan and Betty Kahn Auditorium, A. Alfred Taubman Biomedical Science Research Building To reply by Thursday, May 26, or for more information, please email Jane Bronson at

Psychiatry professor inducted into National Academy of Sciences

May 6, 2016

A University of Michigan professor with an appointment in the Department of Psychiatry is one of four U-M faculty members recently inducted into the National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Susan A.…

Medical School professor receives Diversity Service Award

May 4, 2016

Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases R. Alex Blackwood, M.D., Ph.D., is one of seven University of Michigan faculty members to receive the 2016 Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award…

Retirement Reception for Rhonda Schoville, PhD, RN, MSBA

April 28, 2016

After 30 years of dedicated service, Rhonda Schoville, PhD, RN, MSBA will be retiring in May. A reception in her honor will be held on Wednesday, May 4, 2016 from 3:00…

2 UMMS faculty projects honored for innovative teaching methods

April 26, 2016

Two Medical School projects are among five led by University of Michigan faculty that demonstrate fresh approaches to advance student learning and will be recognized May 2 as winners of the…

John M. Carethers, M.D., elected to AAAS

April 22, 2016

John M. Carethers, M.D., is one of four University of Michigan faculty members recently elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS), a prestigious society that recognizes individuals who…

Ellen Meisenbach Retiring

April 21, 2016

Ellen Meisenbach, administrative assistant in the Cancer Center clinical operations administration suite, is retiring. Her last day will be May 6. Ellen has worked at the University of Michigan 30 years,…