Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

U-M’s Tyson Kim wins Bio Innovation Cup

May 25, 2017

A smartphone device that screens for diabetic retinopathy, the leading cause of preventable blindness among Americans, was chosen by a panel of investors as the winning project at Fast Forward Medical…

UMMS featured in Chronicle of Higher Education story

May 9, 2017

Rajesh S. Mangrulkar, M.D., the Medical School’s associate dean for medical student education and the Marguerite S. Roll Professor of Medical Education, is quoted in the April 30 Chronicle of Higher…

Dr. Robert Werner Retiring From PM&R

April 26, 2017

Robert Werner, MD, Professor of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation and chief of the physical medicine and rehabilitation service at the Ann Arbor VA Medical Center (AAVAMC), will be retiring May 1, 2017. In 1993, Dr. Werner took over as chief of service at the VA and built PM&R there, contributing greatly to resident education, especially in EMG. He also directed the VA portion of the multidisciplinary pain fellowship housed in anesthesia. Dr. Werner's research interests include electromyography, pain management and industrial/occupational rehabilitation. He has over 100 publications in peer reviewed journals and has been successful in receiving grant funding from…

Daniel Fischer farewell

April 17, 2017

Dan Fischer, Interim Director of Social Work and the Director of Child and Family Life, Spiritual Care and Mott Community Relations, will soon be leaving the health system to join the faculty at the University of Michigan School of Social Work as Clinical Assistant Professor and Assistant Dean for Field Education. In this new position, Dan will lead the Office of Field Instruction which oversees internship training of all UMSSW graduate social work students, and collaborate with other Schools of Social Work and the Council on Social Work Education to develop future initiatives related to social work field education. Dan…

2017 Burton Krumholz Lifetime Legacy Award (ASCCP)

April 7, 2017

Hope K. Haefner, M.D., professor of obstetrics and gynecology received the 2017 Burton Krumholz Lifetime Legacy Award from the American Society for Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology (ASCCP). The award honors her contributions to the image archive of diseases affecting the lower genital tract.

Kathy Rhodes, PhD, RDN wins 2017 Outstanding Preceptor Award

April 7, 2017

Kathy Rhodes has been selected as a recipient of a 2017 Outstanding Preceptor Award. This award is granted by the Nutrition and Dietetic Educators and Preceptors (NDEP) Practice Group and the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Foundation. This award, funded by the Academy Foundation, is intended to recognize Kathy for the vital contributions she has made to the profession and to the education of future dietetic practitioners. As one of only seven awardees chosen from many nominations all across the country, she is truly the best of the best! Kathy and her nutrition staff have precepted in the U-M School…

Nine Medical School faculty receive EBS teaching awards

April 5, 2017

The Endowment for Basic Sciences (EBS) Operating Committee on March 6 honored nine Medical School faculty members for excellence in classroom teaching, mentoring, and leadership in the advancement of the teaching…

ABPMR board elects R. Van Harrison, PhD

March 17, 2017

In January 2017 the American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (ABPMR) elected Professor of Learning Health Sciences R. Van Harrison, PhD to become its first public board member on the previously all-physiatrist board. Harrison was chosen for the three-year term not only for his extensive national board and committee service, but because of his vast knowledge in continuing medical education and quality improvement in physician performance, experience he can apply to ABPMR\'s Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program.

Dr. Wojtys receives Jack Hughston Sports Physician Award

February 23, 2017

Congratulations to Edward Wojtys, M.D., professor of orthopaedic surgery, for receiving the 2017 Jack C. Hughston Sports Physician Award from the American Physical Therapy Association\'s Sports Physical Therapy Section. The organization presents the award annually to one physician from the Sports Physical Therapy Section who has made a distinguished contribution in sports physical therapy. Congratulations!