Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

Alan Sugar, M.D., earns Cornea Society’s highest honor

February 20, 2018

The Cornea Society has awarded its highest honor, the Castroviejo Medal, to Alan Sugar, M.D., a professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences at the University of Michigan Kellogg Eye Center. He is a co-chair of the Institutional Review Board (IRBMED), which oversees human subjects research for the University of Michigan Medical Center. He is also a past president of the Cornea Society. “Dr. Sugar has pioneered research into every phase of corneal transplantation. His work has encompassed a dedication to eye banking, earning him the Paton Award, refining the art and practice of corneal transplantation and finally in playing a…

Robert Bartlett Receives Scientific Achievement Award

January 31, 2018

A ground-breaking and internationally recognized Michigan Medicine researcher, surgeon, and professor, Robert H. Bartlett, MD, has received the 2018 Earl Bakken Scientific Achievement Award by The Society of Thoracic Surgeons. A pioneer in the field of critical care, Bartlett is best known for developing the lifesaving heart-lung technology known as extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). ECMO provides prolonged cardiac and respiratory support by removing blood from the body of the person experiencing heart or lung failure, artificially removing carbon dioxide, and oxygenating red blood cells before returning the blood to the patient. “Dr. Bartlett helped refine and then define a technology…

Dr. Sho Kitamoto receives Prevent Cancer Foundation grant

January 18, 2018

Sho Kitamoto, Ph.D., a research fellow working in the lab of Nobuhiko Kamada, Ph.D., was awarded a $100,000 grant from the Prevent Cancer Foundation to study the role of oral bacteria in the development of colon cancer. Dr. Kamada's lab is part of the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Michigan Medical School. “Sho's award is well-deserved, as he is an extremely diligent and enthusiastic researcher, and such an award highlights the importance of our work,” said his mentor, Dr. Kamada. Colon cancer is the third most commonly diagnosed cancer and the second leading cause of death from…

Retirement Announcement – Doug Wolgat

December 29, 2017

Doug Wolgat is retiring on January 5, 2018 after 17 years of service. Doug started at the University of Michigan in 2000 as Foreman in the Hospital Construction Services department. He has worked in Facilities since 2002, with his most recent role being the manager of the Capital Construction group within Facilities Planning and Development. Doug is also a talented musician - he and his bands have played in the hospital courtyard on several occasions over the years. His vast knowledge and sense of humor will be dearly missed. A retirement celebration will be held on Thursday, January 4 from…

Retirement Announcement, Ellen Bandy & Dee Ann WIld

December 21, 2017

Congratulations to Ellen Bandy and Dee Ann Wild on their retirement this month!! Both of these individuals have been clinical staff members in the Department of Respiratory Care throughout their entire careers. Ellen (spouse of Ken Bandy) has served our patients and families since 1974 (over 43 years). Ellen began her career working in “old Main” with adults. Soon after the opening of the UH replacement hospital in 1986, she was approached to start a new program of respiratory services focused on pediatric and adult outpatients, which she supported for many years. Her next assignment moved her to data collection…

Denise Galazka Retiring from the Department of Dermatology

December 4, 2017

Denise Galazka, Administrative Specialist, will be retiring at the beginning of December, after 24 years of dedicated service to the Department of Dermatology. Denise joined the Department of Dermatology in 1993 and worked as a Computer Systems Specialist for 7 years before spending the remaining years in Dermatology administration. She has been a highly valued member of Dermatology’s administrative team, and will be greatly missed. Join us in wishing Denise the very best as she begins this new chapter of her life.

Dr. Johann Gudjonsson named Arthur C. Curtis Professor

November 10, 2017

This October, Johann Gudjonsson, MD PhD was installed as the Arthur C. Curtis Professor of Skin Molecular Immunology. This endowed professorship was established in 2008 and is named for former U-M Dermatology Chair, Dr. Arthur C. Curtis (1942-1967). At the professorship ceremony, Dr. Gudjonsson was praised as a highly accomplished scientist, an outstanding physician, and a valued member of the research community at the University of Michigan. Dr. Carol Bradford, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, presented Dr. Gudjonsson with a medallion to commemorate the occasion and celebrations continued with U-M colleagues, family and friends at the reception which followed. Additional…

V-BID Center Receives Public Policy Award

November 3, 2017

The National Forum for Heart Disease & Stroke Prevention annually recognizes individuals and organizations who have made exceptional contributions to heart disease and stroke prevention by effecting policy change on a…

Pharmacy Walks to Fight Suicide

October 13, 2017

September 23, 2017 the Department of Pharmacy Services joined 2000 walkers in Hart Plaza for the Out of the Darkness Metro Detroit Walk sponsored by The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.…