Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

Congratulations May work milestone anniversaries

May 1, 2022

Congratulations to the Michigan Medicine employees celebrating their work anniversaries in the month of May. Thank you for your continued dedication to your work, your colleagues and your patients.  50 YearsElaine FellowsCheryl Newell 45 YearsLinda LuevanoPamela MulhollandDennis Ondreyka 40 YearsMary Barry-BodineElizabeth BednarzSonja BrandonFelix De La IglesiaWendy KenyonElizabeth MaloneyJanine StoscupDebra SurdykRhonda Tolbert 35 YearsMarianne ArandaMary CaisterCynthia ChinavareTeresa ColaianneAnn DowlingLaura GiuffridaLeslie HarwoodJeffery HoldenTammy KnuthNancy KushmanCarolyn LylesColin MacLeodLynne MardeuszBrenda MarionLisa MarkoLinda MitchellRichard MlynczykLynette MolloFrank PawlickiSandra RaymondSusan RoebuckElla SandefurDan TamaianJennifer WrightAmy YoungRichard Ziegler 30 YearsWilliam BarsanEmmanuel BishopStephanie CampbellLaura GableSusan KoskiAndrew WeedenShannon WischmanDenise Zebley 25 YearsGeriann BalasickJack BernardVerneta BerryZhengyi CaoMary ClayBrayda Conant-BuhlerMary CupchakJenise FalanSusan GoikeBrian…

Nurse Mike McReynolds to retire after nearly 30 years

April 27, 2022

Mike McReynolds began his nursing career in 1993 in the U-M Burn Unit before the service expanded into the Trauma Burn Unit. He shared his nursing care and expertise at Survival Flight, CVICU, the EP Device Team in the MPU Unit and finally at CVC PACU. Mike has also provided ACLS and BCLS training in Life Support Services. As a U-M Clinical Services instructor, Mike has helped shape the careers of many nurses working at UMMC. He earned a Masters of Science in Nursing from The University of Michigan. One of Mike’s attributes is his ability to connect with pre-surgical…

Congratulations to Kim Fecteau on her retirement

April 27, 2022

After 38 years of service to U-M Health, Respiratory Care, Kim Fecteau is retiring on May 5. Kim began her career in 1983 in the Department of Respiratory Care, University Hospital (AKA “old Main”) after completing her degree at Ferris State University. In 1985, she was promoted to a clinical supervisor position within the department and served in that capacity for over a decade before choosing to return to a general staff position for a short period of time. Along with other changes in the department, Kim returned to leadership in 2005 as the clinical specialist for SICU and soon thereafter,…

Ariangela Kozik, Ph.D., earns ACTS Outstanding Trainee: Early (Faculty) Career Development Award

April 21, 2022

Ariangela Kozik, Ph.D., a research investigator in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care, received the 2022 ACTS Outstanding Trainee: Early (Faculty) Career Development Award. The ACTS Outstanding Trainee: Early (Faculty) Career Development Award recognizes high productivity and impact of early faculty research with potential for changing care or health policy. Kozik is the co-founder and vice president of the Black Microbiologists Association (Black In Microbiology), and studies the intersection of the human microbiome, systems biology and inflammatory disease.

Jodyn Platt is new senior scholar in residence for Research Community on Trust

April 20, 2022

The Research Community on Trust, a new joint initiative from AcademyHealth and ABIM Foundation to increase trust in health care, recently selected Jodyn E. Platt, M.P.H., Ph.D., assistant professor in the Department of Learning Health Sciences (DLHS), as their senior scholar in residence. As DLHS faculty, Platt works on a variety of trust-related issues in health care including: understanding entrustment, informed consent, and earning, achieving and sustaining trust. She is also a leader in exploring issues around the Ethical, Legal and Social Implications (ELSI) of learning health systems. In her new role as senior scholar in residence Platt will leverage…

Honoring Robert Keast on his retirement

April 6, 2022

Robert Keast is retiring from the Department of Internal Medicine after serving more than 22 years supporting the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine and also the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine.  For many of us, he has been so much more than our division administrator – he has been a mentor, role model, advisor, confidante and friend.  Robert’s accomplishments are many, and among some of the greatest include tremendous growth of CVM with introduction of many specialty programs, thoughtful and successful financial management, development of new satellite programs and contracts, facilitation of the cardiovascular division move to the ‘new’…

Congratulations April work milestone anniversaries

April 1, 2022

Congratulations to the Michigan Medicine employees celebrating their work anniversaries in the month of April. Thank you for your continued dedication to your work, your colleagues and your patients.  50 YearsDoren Ripley 45 YearsDonald Foley 40 YearsElizabeth Williamson 35 YearsMitzi ChenaultRobert GarypieElizabeth HughesJohn KettleyMichael KilbournKerry KnousSteve MarshallMichelle RobinsonPaula Weibel 30 YearsConstance ConteN DunnickJon OscherwitzMarc Wood 25 YearsDawn BednarskiMichael BoczarMark BournCarrie Childs-ThorMelissa DymondDebra GlessnerDawn HallDavina LoveJames MaszaticsRuth McDanielsSharron MichosSusan MidaTheresa PriessDebra SchaussMichelle SlaytonMatthew UllenbruchKelly WyattDoreen Zoller-OBrian 20 YearsSarah AbateKristin AbernathyDoreen AckermannRoberta BaldwinLisa BeckmanKristine BobbittVictor BoccalonJesse BoevingBiaoxin ChaiEllen ChampagneDebra CunninghamLori DeVriesJennier EagleTorisha EmbryAngela FarrHeather FinleyCurtis FreemanSusan FriebeJudith FryTracie HallTerri HarrisonJohn HibblerPamela HouseholderAmanda…

Suzanne Moenter, Ph.D., receives Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielsen Distinguished Mentor and Scientist Award

March 30, 2022

Suzanne Moenter, Ph.D., associate chair, Molecular & Integrative Physiology, is the 2022 recipient of the Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielsen Distinguished Mentor and Scientist Award from the American Physiological Society. This award honors an APS member who has made outstanding contributions to physiological research and demonstrated dedication and commitment to mentorship. 

Christin Carter-Su, Ph.D., to give prestigious Walter B. Cannon Lecture to American Physiological Society

March 30, 2022

Christin Carter-Su, Ph.D., the Anita H. Payne Distinguished University Professor of Physiology, will give the 2022 Physiology in Perspective: The Walter B. Cannon Award Lecture at the annual meeting of the American Physiological Society. This lectureship is the most prestigious award that APS bestows and recognizes the lifetime achievement of an outstanding physiological scientist and APS member.