Kaiser Permanente Awards for Excellence in Teaching makes call for nominations

January 16, 2023  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees

The Office of Medical Student Education in the U-M Medical School is soliciting nominations by faculty and students for the Kaiser Permanente Awards. 

The Kaiser Award is the most prestigious teaching award given by the medical school. Made possible by a grant from the Kaiser Foundation Hospitals, it consists of an honorarium of $5,000 and a certificate which is presented to each awardee at the Graduation Luncheon. 

Two awards are given each year – one for preclinical and one for clinical teaching. Faculty and students are asked to consider nominating those outstanding teachers who have demonstrated superior teaching ability; accessibility or willingness to help students more than other teachers; enthusiasm and the ability to generate student enthusiasm; the ability to serve as an exemplary role model; and other traits nominators deem to be important.

After nominations are solicited, those faculty members who are nominated by a number of colleagues or students, or who have particularly compelling nominations, are asked to complete secondary applications. The Medical School Awards Committee will review these applications, select finalists, and make recommendations to the Dean and the Executive Committee for final endorsement.


Any faculty member who teaches in the pre-clinical setting of the curriculum (can include classroom (in-person and online), labs, simulation teaching in any phase of the curriculum) may be nominated for the pre-clinical award. Any faculty member who teaches in the clinical setting of the curriculum (can include teaching in the clinical setting in any phase of the curriculum) may be nominated for the clinical award. If the faculty member teaches throughout the 4 year curriculum, they may be considered in either or both categories. Please note that former award winners are not eligible for renomination (see list below) for either award.

Please submit your nomination electronically to Elaine Holleran by Friday, Jan. 27.

For questions about the process email Elaine Holleran at eholler@med.umich.edu or call 734-646-9565.

Previous winners:

 Preclinical AwardClinical Award
2022Cornelius James, M.D.Lauren Heidemann, M.D., MHPE
2021Andrew Tai, M.D., Ph.D.Gifty Kwakye, M.D.
2020Laura Mariani, M.D.Daniel Cronin, M.D.
2019Madelyn Lew, M.D.Michael Lukela, M.D.
2018Scott Owens, M.D.Sarah Hartley, M.D.
2017Jennifer Stojan, M.D.Zachary London, M.D.
2016Beverly Yashar, Ph.D.Vineet Chopra, M.D., M.Sc.
2015Audrey Seasholtz, Ph.D.Maya Hammoud, M.D.
2014Seetha Monrad, M.D.Andrew Barnosky, D.O.
2013Rachel Lipson Glick, M.D.Jonathan Trobe, M.D.
2012Michael Hortsch, Ph.D.Michael J. Englesbe, M.D.
2011Kim Eagle, M.D.Sandro Cinti, M.D.
2010J. Matthew Velkey, Ph.D.Rajesh S. Mangrulkar, M.D.
2009Thomas H. Sisson, M.D.Robert W. Lash, M.D.
2008Rebecca W. Van Dyke, M.D.Vincent M. Cimmino, M.D.
2007Sun-Kee Kim, Ph.D.Kenneth J. Pituch, M.D.
2006Roger J. Grekin, M.D.James F. Peggs, M.D.
2005Thomas D. Gelehrter, M.D.Gilbert R. Upchurch, Jr., M.D.
2004Ameed Raoof, M.D., Ph.D.Sanjay Saint, M.D., M.P.H.
2003N. Cary Engleberg, M.D.Douglas Gelb, M.D. Ph.D.
2002Arno Kumagai, M.D.Michael Shea, M.D.
2001Louis D’Alecy, Ph.D.Paul Fine, M.D.
2000Thomas R. Gest, Ph.D.Lisa M. Colletti, M.D.
1999Michael D. Jibson, M.D., Ph.D.Mel L. Barclay, M.D.
1998David C. Dawson, Ph.D.John T. Santinga, M.D.
1997Bruce M. Carlson, M.D., Ph.D.Mark A. McQuillan, M.D.
1996Andrew J. Zweifler, M.D.David S. Rosen, M.D.
1995Andrew Flint, M.D.James C. Sisson, M.D.
1994Paul A. Weinhold, Ph.D.Cyril M. Grum, M.D.
1993Francis S. Collins, M.D.Robert H. Bartlett, M.D.
1992Terry J. Bergstrom, M.D.Robert A. Green, M.D.
1991Don Lowell Fisher, Ph.D.Gerald B. Zelenock, M.D.
1990Marshal Shlafer, Ph.D.Steven R. Ramsburgh, M.D.
1989Kent J. Johnson, M.D.Richard D. Judge, M.D.
1988Walter A. Castelli, Ph.D.Patricia O’Connor, M.D.
1987Frances E. Bull, M.D.Ralph Rabinovitch, M.D.
1986Sarah Winans Newman, Ph.D.Hsi-Yen Liu, M.D.
1985Fedor Medzihradsky, Ph.D.Robert C. Kelsch, M.D.
1984William Burkel, Ph.D.James E. Rasmussen, M.D.
1983Garth W. Jones, Ph.D.Donita B. Sullivan, M.D.
1982Roy A. Glover, Ph.D.Carol A. Kauffman, M.D.
1981Arthur Vander, M.D.Ananias C. Diokno, M.D.
1980Irwin Goldstein, Ph.D.Sara E. Walker, M.D.
1979Thomas Oelrich, Ph.D.Faith Fitzgerald, M.D.
1978Gerald Abrams, M.D.Paul Kissner, M.D., Gerald Rigg, M.D.
1977Roland Hiss, M.D.Errol E. Erlandson, M.D.