Winners of inaugural Department of Pediatrics Chair’s Awards announced

January 18, 2022  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees

The Department of Pediatrics Chair’s Awards — a new recognition program — are intended to recognize and honor outstanding contributions to the Department of Pediatrics.

Faculty and staff were invited to nominate their peers for these awards.

The program includes recognition for outstanding staff, clinical teams and faculty who represent the best of Michigan Medicine Pediatrics.

Award winners demonstrate significant contributions to the missions of the Department of Pediatrics and embody the Michigan Medicine core values of caring, innovation, inclusion, integrity and teamwork.

The inaugural set of awards will be presented virtually at noon today, Jan. 18. Tune in via Zoom, passcode 5309.

The winners are:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Frank Moler, M.D., M.S., pediatric critical care

Chair’s Award for Outstanding Service to the Department: Kris Kullgren, Ph.D., pediatric psychology

Chair’s Award for Humanism in Clinical Care: Patricia Robertson, M.D., pediatric neurology

Chair’s Rising Star Award: Kao-Ping Chua, M.D., Ph.D., general pediatrics and CHEAR

Chair’s Award for Clinical Program Development: Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery Program (Nancy McNamara, M.D., and Erin Fedak-Romanowski, D.O., codirectors), pediatric neurology

Chair’s Award for Outstanding Contributions in Diversity, Equity & Inclusion: Sharnita Harris, Ph.D., pediatric psychology

Chair’s Award for Excellence in Research: Deb Gipson, M.D., pediatric nephrology

Chair’s Award for Excellent in Quality Improvement: Kim Monroe, M.D., pediatric hospitalist medicine

Chair’s Award for Outstanding Mentorship: Renée Shellhaas, M.D., M.S., pediatric neurology

Chair’s Award for Outstanding Staff Member: Lisa Kincius, pediatric pulmonology and Christine LaJeunesse, pediatric cardiology