Virtual awards ceremony spreads hope and joy

December 14, 2021  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees,

Last week, the Office of Patient Experience (OPE) presented the 12th annual HOPE and JOY awards. To celebrate safely, the award ceremony was hosted virtually with more than 120 attendees participating.

OPE received 100 nominations for the awards, honoring teams and individuals from across Michigan Medicine who represent the diversity of work and talent within the organization. A HOPE award is given to teams and individuals who champion the principles of patient- and family-centered care at Michigan.

Keith Gran, chief patient experience officer, opened the awards ceremony recognizing all of the HOPE and JOY award nominees and all of the front-line workers at Michigan Medicine.

“We want to share our gratitude for your perseverance and dedication. Thank you for all you do every day all day for our patients and each other,” said Gran.

Scott Newport, a patient and family advisor and founder of the HOPE and JOY Awards, then shared reflections about his son, Evan, and the incredible work by the people at Michigan Medicine that make a difference in meaningful ways.

Congratulations to the following 2021 HOPE Award winners:

  • Janelle Stewart, administrative assistant, Department of Surgery, Division of Surgical Oncology
  • Martha Carlson, M.D., Department of Pediatrics
  • Primary Care Panel Management Team, U-M Medical Group
  • Single Ventricle Interstage Home Monitoring Program

The JOY award recognizes patient and family advisors who give their time and efforts to improve the patient experience for everyone at Michigan Medicine.

This year’s JOY award recipient is Tiffani Stokley, who has served as a patient adviser since 2013. Stokley has helped in multiple areas of adult services, the Northville Health Center, at M-Launch for M1 medical students and as a speaker at various events.

Last week’s award ceremony also recognized an outstanding peer mentor with the Celeste Castillo Lee Peer Mentor Award. This year’s recipient is Steve Mohler, who volunteers in radiation oncology.

Unsung Heroes Award

Mott Children’s Hospital and Von Voigtlander Women’s Hospital established a new award for team members outside of the nursing and physician disciplines. The first recipients of the Unsung Heroes Award were also announced at last week’s ceremony.

The winners were:

  • Lori Batton, inpatient unit clerk, Brandon NICU
  • Aunita Erskine, patient financial counselor Patient Financial Services
  • Reagan (Rocky) Graham, guest services specialist
  • Georgary Hardin, guest services specialist
  • Elizabeth Hesse, physical therapist
  • Deshan Lei, head chef, Patient Food and Nutrition Services

David Miller, M.D., president of U-M Health, closed the event, sharing his appreciation for the winners.

“All of you here today exemplify and are recognized for living our core values everyday — caring, innovation, teamwork, inclusion, and integrity,” Miller said. “You are all leaders, whether formally or by example, who help define the character and caliber of our health system. I appreciate and value your contributions and dedication to our patients and families, and elevating their experience with us.”

Click here for the full recording of the HOPE and JOY Awards ceremony.