Union staff election for Police Oversight Committee runs through April 16

April 5, 2021  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees

The election for the union staff representative to serve on the U-M Police Department Oversight Committee is underway and continues through April 16.

The candidates are:

  • Sarah DeFlon, registered nurse
  • Laura Jirasek, registered nurse
  • Christopher Koerber, plumber
  • Michael Lazarus, operating engineer
  • Gregory R. Mitchell, registered nurse
  • John Nichols, electrician

Members of AFSCME, HOA, IUOE, MNA, Skilled Trades and UPAMM at Michigan Medicine and on the Ann Arbor campus may vote in this election.

Read candidate statements and vote April 5-16.

Appointment of the newly elected member to the committee will take place May 3.

The committee receives and makes recommendations regarding grievances against the U-M Police Department or any police officer deputized by the university.

The six-member oversight committee consists of two students, two faculty members (one Senate and one non-Senate faculty), and two staff members (one union and one non-union), who are nominated and elected by their peers for two-year terms.

Website: https://hr.umich.edu/working-u-m/workplace-improvement/police-department-oversight-committee