Call for nominations: Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award

January 29, 2021  //  FOUND IN: Updates & Resources

Named in honor of Dean Emeritus of the School of Social Work, the Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award was established in 1996.

It recognizes faculty whose service goes above and beyond their regular duties and contributes to the development of a culturally and ethnically diverse campus community.

Nominations will be accepted for all regular instructional and research faculty, including librarians, curators, and archivists on the Ann Arbor campus (including the medical school).

Nominations can be made by faculty, staff and students, and must include a nomination letter, which should not exceed 2,000 words.

The nomination letter should explain the particular distinction that makes the nominee exceptionally qualified for this honor using one or more of the following criteria:

Public and/or academically oriented endeavors that demonstrate intellectual excellence and commitment to cultural diversity in service, teaching, scholarship and/or creative activity
Efforts to increase diversity or improve the climate within one’s academic unit and/or the university
Efforts to use scholarly and/or creative work to enhance the success of students and faculty of diverse cultural and racial backgrounds
Willingness to serve as a mentor to students who have a commitment to diversity and social justice
Sustained effort and demonstrated outcomes to bring about equity in our community or society as whole

The nomination letter may incorporate quotations from former and current students, peers, faculty and communities impacted by the nominee’s work.

Up to five awards are made annually, which includes a $5,000 stipend for each honoree.

Nominations must include the nomination form, a letter from the nominator regarding the nominee’s service and accomplishments in the areas described above, and a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vita.

Please send the nomination packets as a single PDF to

The nomination deadline is April 1.