Award winners help organization find hope and joy amid challenging year

December 16, 2020  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last week, the Office of Patient Experience (OPE) presented the 11th annual HOPE and JOY awards. To celebrate safely, the award ceremony was hosted virtually with more than 190 attendees participating.

OPE received 75 nominations for the awards, honoring teams and individuals from across Michigan Medicine who represent the diversity of work and talent within the organization. HOPE award is given to teams and individuals who champion the principles of patient- and family-centered care at Michigan.

The awards began with Scott Newport, a patient and family advisor and founder of the HOPE Awards, sharing reflections about his son, Evan, and the incredible work by the people at Michigan Medicine that make a difference in meaningful ways.

“The nominations this year were truly outstanding,” said Molly Dwyer-White, director of patient experience. “After a really difficult year, it was nice to still come together to celebrate the wonderful individuals and teams that have not only embraced the practice of patient- and family-centered care, but brought it to a new level.”

This years HOPE award winners are:

  • Judy Benkeser, R.N., Care Navigator, UMMG Care Navigation – Taubman General Medicine Clinic: Benkeser was recognized for her tireless role in supporting patients through their health care journey and other life challenges.
  • Melisa Scott, C.N.M., Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology – Nurse Midwifery: Scott was recognized for her role in improving outcomes for Black mothers and babies by implementing programs and resources for this patient population.
  • Regional Infectious Containment Unit (RICU) Care Team: The RICU team was recognized for their extraordinary efforts to bring high quality care to COVID-19 patients during challenging times.
  • Michigan Medicine Security Services: Security Services was recognized not only for the team’s role in keeping employees, patients and families safe, but also for ensuring a comforting and effective presence by reducing the anxiety of staff, patients, learners and visitors.

Meanwhile, the JOY award recognizes patient and family advisors who give their time and efforts to improve the patient experience for everyone at Michigan Medicine.

This year’s JOY award recipient is Meagan Tenyer, a patient advisor who serves on the Cystic Fibrosis Patient and Family Advisory Council.

The award ceremony also recognized an outstanding peer mentor with the Celeste Castillo Lee Peer Mentor Award. This year’s recipient is Sheri Hicks, a peer mentor for individuals with scleroderma, a chronic connective tissue disease.

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!