Evan Newport HOPE & JOY Awards Virtual Ceremony


Wednesday, December 9, 2020


2:00pm - 3:00pm


Virtual - Zoom


Join us for the annual ceremony honoring the finalists and winners of the Evan Newport HOPE and JOY Awards, celebrating the ongoing and innovative practices and initiatives that are improving the patient and family experience at Michigan Medicine.

This year’s ceremony will be held virtually via Zoom – click here to register for the login information, and to add the event to your calendar. All are welcome to join the celebration!

The Evan Newport HOPE and JOY Awards were established to formally recognize the ongoing patient and family centered care practices and initiatives that are happening each day within Michigan Medicine.


Please join us in congratulating the 2020 Finalists for the Evan Newport HOPE Award. Winners will be announced at the ceremony.

Individual Finalists, Adult Services

  • Carrie Battles, RN, Registered Nurse, Medical Short Stay Unit
  • Judy Benkeser, RN, BSN, CCM, Care Navigator, UMMG Care Navigation – Taubman General Medicine Clinic
  • Samantha Judkins, BSN, RN, CNML, Nursing Supervisor, University Hospital 8D
  • Joseph Norman, MD, Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine – Hospital Medicine
  • Elliot Tapper, MD, Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine – Gastroenterology


Individual Finalists, Children’s, Women’s, and Psychiatry Services

  • Michele Brown, LMSW, Social Work Supervisor, Department of Social Work – Ambulatory Psychiatry
  • Marybeth Carlson, RN, Registered Nurse, CW 10E-Pediatric Intensive Care Unit
  • Ashley Jentz, LMSW, Clinical Social Worker, Department of Social Work – Pediatric Home Ventilator Program
  • Alex Friedman Peahl, MD, MSc, Clinical Lecturer, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Melisa Scott, CNM, Certified Nurse Midwife, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology – Nurse Midwifery


Team Finalists, Adult Services

  • Care Management Social Work
  • Department of Respiratory Care
  • RICU Care Team
  • University Hospital Unit 7C – Cardiology


Team Finalists, Children’s, Women’s, and Psychiatry Services

  • Cystic Fibrosis Center, Department of Pediatric Pulmonology
  • Nyman Family Unit for Child and Adolescent Mental Health and Wellness
  • Michigan Medicine Security
  • Pediatric Audiology Team, Department of Otolaryngology