Drs. Carethers and Kolars honored by American College of Physicians

October 2, 2020  //  FOUND IN: Accolades and Milestones

Two Medical School leaders have been honored by the American College of Physicians, the world’s largest medical specialty society and the professional society for all internal medicine specialists and subspecialists.

John M. Carethers, M.D., MACP, has been named the recipient of the 2020 Harriet P. Dustan Award for Science as Related to Medicine, one of the top honors bestowed by the ACP.

Carethers, who chairs the Department of Internal Medicine and is the C. Richard Boland Distinguished University Professor and the John G. Searle Professor of Medicine, was honored for his scientific achievements in studying colon cancer genetics and disparities in colon cancer care.

Carethers was previously named a Master of the ACP, a title that honors highly accomplished individuals who demonstrate impact in practice, leadership, or in medical research.

This year, Joseph Kolars, M.D., Senior Associate Dean for Education and Global Initiatives, was named a Master of the ACP, becoming the 14th U-M faculty member to achieve this designation since mastership began in 1923.

Kolars is the Josiah Macy, Jr., Professor of Health Professions Education, and a professor of  internal medicine and of learning health sciences.

See the full list of awardees and newly named masters for 2020-2021 here. 

See the full list of ACP Masters here.


Website: https://www.acponline.org/about-acp/awards-masterships-and-competitions/acp-announces-new-masterships-and-awardees-for-2020-2021