2020 faculty and student awardees for IPE Innovation and Excellence named

April 21, 2020  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees

The U-M Center for Interprofessional Education (IPE)’s annual Awards for Innovation and Excellence were to be presented at the sixth-annual Health Professions Education Day on April 14. That was before HPE Day joined the ranks of pandemic cancelations.

So that the student and faculty achievements would not be overlooked, Center for IPE leadership filmed their award presentations, and faculty and students filmed their acceptances; it all played on Center for IPE Twitter on April 14.

It wasn’t the same as real-life, but you can get a sense of the achievement and gratitude in the videos for the faculty and student awards.

The awardees:

Christina Tang, College of Pharmacy Pharm.D. student

Blueprints for Pangaea, Interprofessional Student Group

Mark Fitzgerald, School of Dentistry associate dean and associate professor

IPE 101 Taskforce, chaired by Laura Smith, UM-Flint associate professor of physical therapy, with representation from all active IPE schools at U-M:

• Mark Fitzgerald (Dentistry)
• Melissa Gross (Kinesiology)
• Laurel Moore (Medicine)
• Peggy Ursuy (Nursing)
• Karen Farris and Chamipa Phanudulkitti (Pharmacy)
• Olivia Anderson (Public Health)
• Debbie Mattison (Social Work)
• Vani Patterson and Ghaidaa Najjar (Center for IPE)
• Tazin Daniels (Center for Research on Learning & Teaching)
• Karthik Nagappan (Business)
• Vinoothna Bavireddy (Information)

Website: https://interprofessional.umich.edu/2020/04/14/presenting-2020-ipe-awards-virtually/