2020 Social Worker of the Year Awards


Wednesday, March 4, 2020




Towsley Dow Auditorium


2020 Social Worker of the Year Awards


Nomination Deadline: Friday, January 31, 2020 at 11:59 PM


Each year we recognize excellence in social work practice for social workers at the master’s level (MSW) and bachelor’s level (BSW) and we are looking to you to nominate social workers for this year’s awards.


The 17th Annual Beverly Jean Howard Award for Excellence in Social Work

This award recognizes excellence in social work practice at the MSW level and is given in the name of a beloved colleague who died in September of 2002. Beverly taught us that leadership, friendship, and mentorship go hand-in-hand. We celebrate her legacy with this award and acknowledge our fellow social workers who embody these attributes.


The 7th Annual Anita Clos Award for Outstanding BSW

This award recognizes excellence in social work practice at the BSW level and is named after previous Social Work manager, Anita Clos, who advocated for the value and inclusion of BSW roles at Michigan Medicine. This award is to honor Anita, the commitment she gave to the BSW scope of practice and to the BSWs who practice the outstanding work she intended to recognize.


This year’s award ceremony will take place on Wednesday, March 4th beginning at 8:30 AM in the Dow Auditorium of the Towsley Center and you are welcome to join us.


Every nominee will be honored and the 2020 award recipient will also receive a gift to celebrate their achievement and to recognize their excellence in social work practice


Eligibility: Michigan Medicine social workers hired before January 1, 2019 are eligible. In order to continue recognizing new colleagues, the remarkable social workers who are previous recipients of either award are not eligible to be nominated again for five years following their award, therefore their names will not appear in the electronic nomination form.


Nominations: Any Michigan Medicine employee may nominate a social worker for recognition.



1) Contributions/demonstrated excellence in the following areas (must meet 3 or more):

– Professional social work practice

– Education

– Leadership

– Program development

– Patient advocacy

– Research / Scholarship

– Innovation

– Community

– Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

– Interprofessional team work


2) Positively influences perspectives of social work practice at Michigan Medicine


Please click LINK to submit a nomination for either award. If you should experience any difficulties, please contact Chad Barber at bchad@med.umich.edu or 4-8052.


Thank you.


2020 Social Worker of the Year Committee