George A. Mashour, M.D., Ph.D., named chair of Department of Anesthesiology

December 6, 2019  //  FOUND IN: Strategy & Leadership

George A. Mashour, M.D., Ph.D., has been named chair of the Department of Anesthesiology and the Robert B. Sweet Professor of Anesthesiology, effective Dec. 1. The board of regents approved both appointments Thursday. 

 Mashour, formerly the Bert N. La Du Professor of Anesthesiology Research, has served the U-M Medical School as associate dean for clinical and translational research and director of the Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research (MICHR) since 2015.

Additional leadership positions include: associate chair for research in the Department of Anesthesiology since 2014, director of the Center for Consciousness Science since 2014, and executive director of translational research for U-M’s central Office of Research since 2016. Of these roles, he will relinquish all except for MICHR director, which he will continue to serve until a successor is named.

He received his medical degree and doctorate in neuroscience from Georgetown University, and studied neuroscience as a Fulbright Scholar in Berlin and Bonn. He completed his internship, residency and chief residency at the Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital. He was a fellow in neurosurgical anesthesiology at U-M, and in 2007 was appointed assistant professor in the departments of anesthesiology and neurosurgery, with an additional faculty appointment in the Neuroscience Graduate Program. He was promoted to tenured associate professor in 2013, named the La Du Professor in 2014, and promoted to professor in 2017.

Mashour is an internationally-recognized expert on the neurobiology of consciousness and general anesthesia. He has authored more than 200 publications and has been the lead editor of five textbooks on anesthesiology and neuroscience. He currently serves as the principal investigator of three R01 grants from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the field of neuroscience; principal investigator of NIH T32 and R13 grants to promote academic anesthesiology; and principal investigator of NIH UL1 and U01 grants to promote translational science.  He also serves on the steering committee of the NIH Clinical Translational Science Awards program and as a member of the NIH Surgery, Anesthesiology, and Trauma study section.

He serves on the boards of the Association of University Anesthesiologists and the International Anesthesia Research Society. He has received numerous institutional awards as well as national honors that include the Presidential Scholar Award from the American Society of Anesthesiologists and election to the National Academy of Medicine.

Please congratulate Mashour to his new leadership role and thank Kevin K. Tremper, M.D., Ph.D., who served as chair of anesthesiology since 1991 — one of the longest-tenured leaders in the organization’s history. The Department of Anesthesiology currently ranks No. 1 in NIH funding and No. 7 nationally in the 2020 U.S. News and World Report Best Graduate Schools rankings. Much of that is due to Tremper’s many significant contributions and commitment to the department, the U-M Medical School and Michigan Medicine.