Celebrating 10 years of HOPE and JOY

December 18, 2019  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees,

Last week, members of the Michigan Medicine community gathered at Ford Auditorium to recognize winners of the HOPE and JOY awards.

A decade ago, Scott Newport, a grieving father at C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital, created an award in memory of his son Evan. The award recognized individuals and teams who show an exceptional commitment to the philosophy of patient and family centered care. 

What began as a small effort in Mott has grown to encompass the entire health system.

This year, there were more than 100 nominees from UH/CVC, ambulatory care, the Rogel Cancer Center and Mott. 

“Today we celebrate the wonderful individuals and teams that have not only embraced the practice of patient and family centered care, but they have brought it to a new level,” said Molly White, administrative director for patient experience and engagement. “They have been recognized by their peers as exemplars for the rest of the organization.”

This year’s HOPE award winners included:

  • Dan Cronin, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine
  • Diane Perry and Carolyn Palka, Cardiac Rehabilitation Orientation Team, Domino’s Farms
  • Austin Michalski, registered dietitian, Brandon NICU, Patient Food and Nutrition Services
  • Nicole Figueroa, Rhonda Shultz, Sarah Holley, Amal Dahmani, Michelle Stanely, Deb O’Neil, Laura Ready, Gabbi Foster, Joy Dettore, Jaci Michetti, Gretal Quitmeyer and Susan Maycock, Non-Abusive Psychological and Physical Intervention Implementation (NAPPI) Team

The JOY award recognizes patient and family advisors who give their time and efforts to improve the patient experience for everyone at Michigan Medicine. This is year’s JOY award recipients are:

  • Lauren Rosenberg, patient advisor
  • Gwynneth Van Laven, patient advisor

The award ceremony also recognized an outstanding peer mentor with the Celeste Castillo Lee Peer Mentor Award. This year’s recipient is:

  • Neil Childs, Kidney Transplant Peer Mentor Program

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!