Resources available to support meaningful dialogue across Michigan Medicine

July 8, 2019  //  FOUND IN: Strategy & Leadership

Across Michigan Medicine, meaningful conversations and dialogue will continue well into the future that will speak to the strength of the community and how the organization is using its values of civility, respect and humanity to be resilient in the wake of a disturbing incident in June.

Community listening sessions have been scheduled across the institution, including new events at ambulatory care sites across the region.

The programs will be held at the following times and locations. These sessions are open to all employees and are not limited to those that work at each site.

UMMG events:

  • Monday, July 8: Noon – 1 p.m., West Ann Arbor, Conference Room 2004 A/B
  • Tuesday, July 9: Noon – 1 p.m., Brighton Center for Specialty Care, Floor 1, Room 1341
  • Wednesday, July 10: Noon – 1 p.m., Canton Health Center, Large Conference Room
  • Thursday, July 11: Noon – 1 p.m., Ypsilanti Health Center, Conference Room
  • Monday, July 15: Noon – 1 p.m., Burlington, Floor  2 Conference Room 2105
  • Tuesday, July 16: Noon – 1 p.m., DF Medsport Lobby A, Floor 2 Large Conference Room
  • Thursday, July 18: Noon – 1 p.m., Northville Health Center, Conference Room 2507 A/B
  • Monday, July 22: Noon – 1 p.m., East Ann Arbor Health Center, Lower Level Conference Room

OHEI events:

  • Wednesday, July 3: Noon – 1 p.m., Med Sci I – 5107
  • Friday, July 5: Noon – 1 p.m., UH Dining Room A (this will also serve as a First Friday event)
  • Wednesday, July 10: Noon – 1 p.m., Med Sci II – 3817
  • Tuesday, July 16: Noon – 1 p.m., Med Sci I – 5107
  • Tuesday, July 23: Noon – 1 p.m., Med Sci I – 5107
  • Friday, July 26: Noon – 1 p.m., Med Sci I – 5107

Spiritual Care events:

  • Tuesday, July 2: 10:30 p.m., UH Dining Room A/B
  • Wednesday, July 3: 11 a.m., UH Dining Room A/B
  • Tuesday, July 16: 3 p.m., UH Dining Room A/B

Additionally, the Office of Patient Experience will be sponsoring an event designed to support patients and families through empathy and cultural humility.

That program will take place from 3 p.m. until 4:30 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 9 in the Ford Auditorium and all members of the Michigan Medicine community are invited to attend.

Finally, each department or unit may hold their own conversations. If that’s the case, OHEI is providing tools that may be used to have meaningful discussions about individual experiences and to spark ideas.

Click here for a complete look at these resources, which includes a look at how to respond in the wake of a critical incident and how to hold vital dialogue.

RELATED STORIES