Michigan Postdoctoral Pioneer Program Awardees 2019

June 14, 2019  //  FOUND IN: Accolades and Milestones

The Michigan Postdoctoral Pioneer Program (MPPP), established by the Endowment for Basic Sciences, has announced the inaugural Pioneer Fellow recipients.

Awardees represent a range of departments and units within the U-M Medical School. Four projects were selected from a pool of 27 applicants.  The awardees’ work reflects far-reaching potential in basic science research and beyond. Please join us in congratulating the 2019 MPPP recipients:

Kyoung Jo, Cell & Developmental Biology

Dr. Kyoung will explore systems level understanding of the signaling integration in early human embryogenesis.

Mentors: Idse Heemskerk (CDB) & Jason Spence (Internal Medicine)

Zeribe Nwosu, Molecular & Integrative Physiology and Surgery

Dr. Nwosu will explore how macrophage metabolism contributes to chemotherapeutic resistance and pancreatic cancer progression.

Mentors: Costas Lyssiotis (Molecular & Integrative Physiology) & Marina Pasca di Magliano (Surgery)

Kelsey Temprine, Pediatric Oncology

Dr. Temprine will explore the role of the tumor microenvironment to better understand the biologic drivers of metastasis in Ewing sarcoma.

Mentors: Elizabeth Lawlor (Pediatric Oncology) & Kurt Hankenson (Orthopedic Surgery)

Lin Zhang, Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics

Dr. Zhang will identify and test novel drugs that block VEGF and PD-L1using novel computation and modeling approaches.

Mentors: Yang Zhang (Computational Med and Bioinformatics), Shaomeng Wang (Medicine) & Gilbert Omenn (Computational Med and Bioinformatics)


Website: https://umichpioneerprogram.org/