Award winners celebrated for exceptional commitment to the patient experience

December 17, 2018  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last week, Michigan Medicine was filled with celebration, hope and joy.

The annual Evan Newport HOPE and JOY awards — honoring individuals and teams who have gone above and beyond in their daily work to embrace the principles of patient and family centered care — took place Wednesday afternoon in front of a standing room-only crowd in Ford Auditorium.

The awards are named after Evan Newport, who spent the first 252 days of his life in the hospital. The care team that enabled Evan to lead a happy childhood in the face of health care challenges inspired his father, Scott, and brother, Noah, to found the HOPE Awards program in his memory.

The HOPE Awards have been presented annually since 2009.

During this year’s ceremonies, Chief Patient Experience Officer Keith Gran recognized the efforts of all the award nominees and their teams.

“I’m proud to work alongside these individuals who go over and beyond for our patients and families,” said Gran. “The nominees, finalists and winners are truly deserving of this honor.”

Patients, families, faculty and staff submitted more than 100 nominations for this year’s awards, which were then narrowed down to a list of finalists.

The awards committee selected four HOPE award winners and two JOY award winners, given to volunteer patient and family advisors. The ceremony also recognized a peer mentor with the Celeste Castillo Lee Peer Mentor Award.

Congratulations to this year’s winners:

HOPE Award winners

  • Ella Sandefur, unit host, University Hospital 6C
  • Halley Crissman, M.D., M.P.H., house officer, obstetrics and gynecology
  • Office of Medical Student Education, U-M Medical School
  • Interdisciplinary Pediatric Feeding Program

JOY Award winners

  • Chloe Rothschild, patient/family volunteer advisor
  • Toula Saratsis, patient/family volunteer advisor

Celeste Castillo Lee Peer Mentor Award

  • Russ Maurer, volunteer parent mentor, Mott Congenital Heart Center

To read more about the HOPE Award winners and see a full list of finalists, click here.