2018 diversity award for staff recognizes 10 individuals, five teams

December 12, 2018  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees

The 2018 DDLA individual winners are, front row from left: Ingrid Racine, LaTonya Berryhill, Jeanne Murabito, Kadesha Baker. Back row, from left: Diana Parrish, Michael Turner, Hector Galvan, Darlene Ray-Johnson, Blake Bonkowski, Janice Reuben (Photo by Daryl Marshke, Michigan Photography)

Recipients of the 10th annual Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award for U-M staff were celebrated Monday at an afternoon ceremony at the Michigan League.

The 10 individual winners received $1,000 each. Five teams also received $2,500 each. The prizes are to be used toward professional development activities.

“This year’s recipients represent a diverse cross-section of the university, with recognition in areas such as gender, student support and accessibility. This work is a testament to U-M’s dedication to diversity, equity and inclusion,” said Robert Sellers, vice provost for equity and inclusion and chief diversity officer.

“The diverse representation of work across all three academic campuses, Michigan Medicine, and throughout the entire university community, continues to be a driving force in creating impactful, long-lasting change.”

The event was opened by Jeffrey Frumkin, associate vice provost and interim senior director of the Office for Institutional Equity, and featured a special video sharing the beginnings of the decade-old award.

The ceremony also included comments by Sellers and closing remarks from Sonya Jacobs, director of health sciences faculty development and chief organizational learning officer.

Highlights of the award presentation included the retrospective video consisting of interviews with key sponsors of the award, including Laurita Thomas, associate vice president for human resources.

Additionally, short videos provided by nominators were shown, which added a personal touch to each award presentation.

This award is made possible by the Office of the Provost and University Human Resources to celebrate progress toward creating a diverse, equitable and inclusive environment.

Individual winners

• Kadesha Baker, University Human Resources, U-M Children’s Centers

• LaTonya Berryhill, Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research

• Blake Bonkowski, Office for Student Engagement, UM-Dearborn

• Hector Galvan, Office of Academic Multicultural Initiatives

• Jeanne Murabito, College of Engineering, Office of Student Affairs

• Diana Parrish, University Health Service

• Ingrid Racine, Center for World Performance Studies, Residential College

• Darlene Ray-Johnson, Rackham Graduate School Dean’s Office

• Janice Reuben, Center for the Education of Women

• Michael Turner, Center for Educational Outreach

Team winners

• Comprehensive Gender Services Program Team

• Graduate Student Support Group, UM-Dearborn, Mechanical Engineering

• We Listen Staff Planning Committee

• UM-Flint Women’s Commission

• IDEA Committee of the Career Services Network

Click here to view photos of the winning teams.