24 medical school faculty and staff honored with Dean’s Awards

September 11, 2018  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees

The Dean’s Awards Program recognizes U-M Medical School faculty and staff who demonstrate exceptional accomplishment in the areas of teaching, research, clinical care, community service, innovation and administration.

On Sept. 6, Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean Marschall S. Runge, M.D., Ph.D., and the school’s executive vice deans announced 24 Dean’s Awards recipients for 2018. They will be honored Nov. 15 at the annual Dean’s Awards Dinner.

This year’s recipients:

2018 Dean’s Awards for Faculty

Basic Science Research Award

Jeffrey M. Kidd, Ph.D., associate professor of human genetics and computational medicine and bioinformatics

Jason R. Spence, Ph.D., H. Marvin Pollard Collegiate Professor of Gastroenterology; associate professor of internal medicine, cell and developmental biology and biomedical engineering

Maria G. Castro, Ph.D., R. C. Schneider Collegiate Professor of Neurosurgery; professor of cell and developmental biology

Clinical and Health Services Research Award

Justin B. Dimick, M.D., MPH, George D. Zuidema Professor of Surgery

Reshma Jagsi, M.D., D.Phil., professor of radiation oncology

Daniel E. Spratt, M.D., associate professor of radiation oncology

Community Service Award

Chad M. Brummett, M.D. (local), associate professor of anesthesiology

Joseph C. Kolars, M.D. (global), Josiah Macy, Jr., Professor of Health Professions Education; professor of internal medicine and learning health sciences

Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research

Thomas W. Glover, Ph.D., professor of human genetics, pediatrics and communicable diseases and pathology

Innovation and Commercialization Award

Daniel A. Orringer, M.D., assistant professor of neurosurgery

Glenn E. Green, M.D., professor of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, AND David A. Zopf, M.D., M.S., assistant professor of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery (joint)

Kaiser Permanente Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Scott R. Owens, M.D. (pre-clinical), professor of pathology

Sarah E. Hartley, M.D. (clinical), assistant professor of internal medicine

Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Care

Robert C. Hyzy, M.D., professor of internal medicine

Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education

Andrew R. Barnosky, D.O., MPH, professor of emergency medicine, learning health sciences and internal medicine

Larry D. Gruppen, Ph.D., professor of learning health sciences

Outstanding Clinician Award

Roma Y. Gianchandani, MBBS, associate professor of internal medicine

Hope K. Haefner, M.D., professor of obstetrics and gynecology

Peter J. Strouse, M.D., John F. Holt Collegiate Professor of Radiology

Mark M. Zalupski, M.D., professor of internal medicine

2018 Dean’s Awards for Staff

Administrator of the Year Award

Gail A. Campanella, MBA, managing director, Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation

Professional Staff of the Year Award

Tyler J. Hughes, senior financial analyst, Medical School Finance

Support Staff of the Year Award

Dawn Storball, student services assistant, Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners!