LOL: Learn Our Lingo archive

June 6, 2018  //  FOUND IN: Updates & Resources

Here are acronyms that have been highlighted through the Headlines Acronym of the Month!

Organizational acronyms:

  • UMHS: The U-M Health System, which is the clinical enterprise at Michigan Medicine.
    • Part of the health system is comprised of the hospitals at the academic medical center, some of which are known by acronyms. These include:
      • UH/CVC: University Hospital and the Frankel Cardiovascular Center
      • C&W: C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital and Von Voigtlander Women’s Hospital
      • Quick note: The Rogel Cancer Center is not abbreviated in any instance.
  • UMMG: The U-M Medical Group, which comprises more than 2,000 physicians. This group is made of the faculty members at the U-M Medical School and oversees ambulatory care at Michigan Medicine.
  • MHC: Michigan Health Corporation, which was established to pursue projects, joint ventures and managed care initiatives that support the research, education and clinical missions of the organization.

Michigan Medicine facilities:

  • BCSC: Brighton Center for Specialty Care. Set to open next month, the BCSC is a large, cutting-edge facility that will provide more than 50 specialties to pediatric and adult outpatients in Livingston County.
  • BSRB: Biomedical Science Research Building. A state-of-the-art research facility that contains more than 240 labs, 175 offices and areas for students, researchers and faculty members to collaborate.
  • EAA: East Ann Arbor Health Center. A facility providing primary and specialty care services to outpatients. EAA is also home to the organization’s geriatrics center.
  • NCAC: North Campus Administrative Complex: NCAC houses employees from a number of administrative departments, including Human Resources, the Department of Communication, the Office of Patient Experience, Paging Services and a number of outpatient call centers. Health Information Management — where patients can retrieve their medical records — is also stationed at NCAC.
  • NCRC: North Campus Research Complex. A sprawling 32-acre facility that was originally built by pharmaceutical company Parke-Davis in 1960 and later utilized by Pfizer. The university took over the complex in 2009 and it now serves as the home of numerous research labs, meeting spaces and, as of earlier this summer, the Department of Pathology.
  • NIB: North Ingalls Building. Located on the site of the old St. Joseph Mercy Hospital, NIB was taken over by U-M in 1977. There you can find many Michigan Medicine administrative offices along with classrooms and offices for the U-M School of Nursing.
  • THSL: Taubman Health Sciences Library. Newly renovated, the THSL serves as a 24/7 education hub with electronic resources and collaboration spaces for med students. There is also a dedicated med student lounge.
  • WAA-PP: West Ann Arbor-Parkland Plaza. Dozens of specialties have seen patients in this facility since it opened in late 2017. One of its main draws is the radiology unit, which provides general imaging, CT scans, ultrasounds and mammography away from the main medical campus.

Patient care units:

  • ADTU: Ambulatory Diagnostic Treatment Unit. The ADTU is a patient’s best option for nonemergent ambulatory care, addressing acute issues that could normally be handled in a clinic setting, but require extra time or intervention. While the ADTU requires a referral from a Michigan Medicine team member, it reduces emergency department admissions and alleviates wait time for patients.
  • CCMU: Critical Care Medicine Unit. A 20-bed area on the 6th floor of University Hospital that provides intensive observation and specialized care for critically-ill adult patients. It is similar to what is referred to simply as the ICU (intensive care unit) in other hospitals and health centers.
  • MPU: Medical Procedures Unit. This unit cares for patients who undergo endoscopic and procedural interventions in the fields of digestive and pulmonary disease. It is located on the second level of University Hospital.
  • MSSU: Medical Short Stay Unit. Founded in 2015, the MSSU provides care to patients that require a brief hospital stay, typically expected to last less than 48 hours. There are two locations, one on B1 of Taubman Center and one on the fourth floor of UH South.
  • CICU: Cardiac Intensive Care Unit. An area that cares for critically-ill cardiac patients. It is located on the seventh floor of University Hospital.
  • NICU: Neonatal Intensive Care Unit or Newborn Intensive Care Unit. Babies who are born prematurely or who need specialized care are treated in the NICU, located on level 8 of C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital.
  • PICU: Pediatric Intensive Care Unit. Faculty and staff in the 30-bed Mott PICU provide advanced care for infants, children and young adults with life-threatening conditions. It is located on the 10th floor.
  • PACU: Post-Anesthesia Care Unit. Where most patients are taken following a surgical procedure that includes anesthesia. Anesthesiologists and other experts monitor patient conditions near all Michigan Medicine operating rooms to ensure they are making a safe recovery.
  • PCTU: Pediatric Cardiothoracic Intensive Care Unit. Cardiologists, cardiac surgeons and nurses in this 30-bed unit, located on the 10th floor at Mott, are specially trained to handle patients who are approaching or already in cardiorespiratory arrest.
  • SICU: Surgical Intensive Care Unit. Faculty and staff in this unit care for post-operative patients who are critically ill or at high risk. This includes individuals recovering from kidney and liver transplants and patients with cancer. The 20-bed unit is located on the 5th floor of University Hospital.

Patient safety acronyms:

  • HAC: Health care acquired condition, health care associated condition or hospital acquired condition
    • CAUTI: Catheter-Associated Urinary Tract Infection
    • CLABSI: Central-Line Associated Bloodstream Infection
    • SSI: Surgical Site Infection
    • C. Diff: Clostridium difficile infection (also called C. difficile) — an infection that affects the colon

Accreditation bodies:

  • ACCME: The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education. The ACCME is the accreditation body for organizations that provide continuing medical education credits (CME). According to its website, in order for an institution to earn accreditation, it must “meet requirements for delivering independent CME that accelerates learning, change and improvement in health care.”
  • ACGME: The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. The ACGME carries out regular Clinical Learning Environment Reviews (CLER) every 18-24 months. The most recent CLER site visit at Michigan Medicine took place earlier this summer and measured the organization’s ability to prepare residents and fellows to enter the workforce.
  • ANCC: American Nurses Credentialing Center. The ANCC certifies hospitals across the U.S. with Magnet recognition, meaning the facilities meet rigorous standards for quality patient care, nursing excellence and innovations in professional nursing practice. Only six percent of hospitals across the country are Magnet certified, including Michigan Medicine, which earned the recognition in 2017.
  • TJC: The Joint Commission. TJC is the oldest accrediting body and currently certifies more than 21,000 hospitals nationwide. In addition to overall hospital reviews, TJC also reviews ambulatory care settings and provides disease-specific care certifications (such as stroke).