Award winners inspire hope, joy in Michigan Medicine patients

December 19, 2017  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last week, Michigan Medicine was filled with hope and joy. The annual Evan Newport HOPE and JOY awards — honoring individuals and teams who have gone above and beyond in their daily work to embrace the principles of patient and family centered care — took place Wednesday afternoon in a packed Ford Auditorium.

The awards are named after Evan Newport, who was a patient at C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital for the first 252 days of his life. The care team that enabled Evan to lead a happy childhood in the face of health care challenges inspired his father, Scott, and brother, Noah, to found the HOPE Awards program. They have been presented annually since 2012.

During this year’s ceremonies, Chief Patient Experience Officer Keith Gran recognized the efforts of all the award nominees and their teams.

“Improving the patient experience cannot be done by one group,” Gran said. “The focus and dedication of everyone here, especially our winners, sets a high standard for Michigan Medicine as a whole.”

“[Every nominee] has been recognized by their peers as exemplars,” said Molly White, administrative director for the Office of Patient Experience. “They have not only embraced the practice of patient and family centered care, but they have brought it to a new level.”

More than 100 nominations were submitted by colleagues, patients or families, which were then narrowed down to a list of finalists.

The awards committee selected four HOPE (Helping Our Patients Everyday) award winners and two JOY (given to volunteer patient and family centered care advisors) award winners. The ceremony also recognized a peer mentor with the Celeste Castillo Lee Peer Mentor Award.

Congratulations to the following winners:

HOPE awards

  • Amanda Schoettinger, M.S.W., Department of Social Work, H.E.L.P. (Hospital Elder Life Program) and N.O.D.A. (No One Dies Alone program)
  • Kim Kurzeja, R.N., Congenital Heart Center, Pediatric Cardiothoracic Unit
  • Ypsilanti Health Center staff
  • Electroconvulsive Therapy Team

JOY awards

  • Robyn Bishop
  • Diane Drago

Celeste Castillo Lee Peer Mentor Award

  • Taneisha Campbell

To read more about the winners and see a full list of finalists, click here.

And for more information on the history of the HOPE and JOY awards, visit the awards website.