UMHS board now includes outside leaders from medicine, business

October 21, 2016  //  FOUND IN: Strategy & Leadership

Health care and business leaders were appointed to the UMHS board on Thursday, after approval from the board of regents.

Earlier this year, the board of regents approved the establishment of the health system board to advise the board of regents and health system leadership and provide governance. The health system board provides guidance and acts as a governing body for licensing, accreditation, compliance, quality of medical services and related purposes.

This new governing board will include leaders from outside the university for the first time.

“We believe these individuals will bring significant collective experience and expertise that will benefit the health system,” said Dr. Marschall S. Runge, executive vice president for medical affairs and dean of the Medical School.

“This group will provide a strong and effective board that I know can help us reach our strategic goals and prioritize our missions of research, education and clinical care.”

The board has 11 members. Four are ex-officio: Runge; U-M President Mark Schlissel; Kevin Hegarty, executive vice president and chief financial officer; and Dr. David Spahlinger, executive vice dean for clinical affairs and president of UMHS.

Regents approved seven additional members to the board:

  • Patricia Hurn, dean of the School of Nursing. She came to U-M in August from the University of Texas system where she was vice chancellor for research and innovation and an executive officer. Her term ends in September 2018.
  • Dr. Michael M.E. Johns, professor in the Schools of Medicine and Public Health at Emory University, where he is currently serving as interim executive vice president for Health Affairs. Johns served as U-M’s interim executive vice president for medical affairs in 2014-15. He is emeritus executive vice president for health affairs at Emory and emeritus president and chairman of the Board of Emory Healthcare. His term ends in September 2017.
  • Dr. Paul Lee, the F. Bruce Fralick Professor and Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the Medical School and director of the W.K. Kellogg Eye Center. His term ends in September 2017.
  • Bob Sheehy, co-founder and chief executive officer of Bright Health, a next-generation health insurer, and executive partner at Flare Capital Partners, a health care investment company. His term ends in September 2018.
  • Dr. Kevin Tremper, the Robert B. Sweet Professor and Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology. His term ends in September 2019.
  • Marianne Udow-Phillips, executive director of the Center for Healthcare Research & Transformation. Her term ends in September 2019.
  • Dr. Tachi Yamada, a venture partner in Frazier Healthcare Partners and a former chief of the Division of Gastroenterology and chair of the Department of Internal Medicine. He is a former chief medical and scientific officer at Takeda Pharmaceuticals in Tokyo and a former president of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Global Health Program in Seattle. His term ends in September 2019.