OB/GYN department names new REI chief

October 12, 2016  //  FOUND IN: Strategy & Leadership

The U-M Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology is pleased to announce that Erica E. Marsh, MD, MSCI, FACOG, is joining the department as chief of the Division of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility.

Marsh is a nationally recognized expert in uterine leiomyomas, commonly known as fibroids. Her research focuses on fibroids and health disparities within reproductive endocrinology and infertility.

“The University of Michigan has a long history of producing thought leaders in reproductive science. I am honored to have the opportunity to be a part of this great tradition,” said Marsh. “With its culture of collaboration, citizenship and excellence, Michigan provides the ideal environment to conduct transformative research in women’s health.

“In addition to advancing the academic mission, I look forward to advancing our social mission by developing new relationships with partners in surrounding underserved communities.”

A graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School, Marsh completed her residency at the Brigham and Women’s/Massachusetts General Hospital program and her REI fellowship and MS in Clinical Investigation at Northwestern University, where she joined the faculty.

Marsh is the U-M site principal investigator for a $20 million grant funded by the Patient-Centered Research Institute — or PCORI — to evaluate the effectiveness of different treatment strategies for women with uterine fibroids. The project is a collaboration between PCORI and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality and combines the unique expertise and patient population of 10 of the country’s most successful uterine fibroid programs.

At Michigan, Marsh will be developing a global program for Comparative Women’s Health and Genetics, which will allow researchers to identify the geographic, cultural, ethnic, and genetic drivers of reproductive disease in women.

Marsh was selected as the 2015 recipient of the Ira and Ester Rosenwaks New Investigator Award from the American Society for Reproductive Medicine and has received funding from the National Institutes of Health, The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and AHRQ.