Psychiatry professor inducted into National Academy of Sciences

May 6, 2016  //  FOUND IN: Accolades and Milestones

A University of Michigan professor with an appointment in the Department of Psychiatry is one of four U-M faculty members recently inducted into the National Academy of Sciences (NAS).

Susan A. Murphy, Ph.D., the Herbert E. Robbins Distinguished University Professor of Statistics in the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts (LSA), research professor in the Institute for Social Research, and a professor of psychiatry in the Medical School, is among 84 members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries who are newly elected.

Membership in the NAS is one of the highest distinctions for a scientist or engineer in the United States. NAS is a nonprofit institution that recognizes achievement in science and provides science, technology and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations. The four new inductees bring the number of active NAS members on U-M’s faculty to 29.

“We are thrilled at the recognition of these world-class scientists who contribute so much to our understanding of the world through their scholarship,” said U-M Provost Martha E. Pollack, Ph.D.

U-M’s other NAS inductees for 2016:

• Stephen R. Forrest, Ph.D., the Peter A. Franken Distinguished University Professor of Engineering and Paul G. Goebel Professor of Engineering in the College of Engineering (CoE). Forrest also holds appointments in the CoE departments of electrical engineering and computer sciences, materials science and engineering, and physics in LSA.

• Judith T. Irvine, Ph.D., the Edward Sapir Collegiate Professor of Linguistic Anthropology in LSA.

• Melanie S. Sanford, Ph.D., the Moses Gomberg Collegiate Professor of Chemistry and an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor in LSA.