One month left to nominate faculty for awards

April 6, 2016  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees

The deadline is fast approaching for Medical School leaders and faculty to nominate their fellow educators, researchers and physicians for one of seven awards through the Dean’s Awards Program. The deadline for nominations for the following awards is May 2, 2016:


Education Award


Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education — recognizes faculty with a lifetime of achievement in all types of education: undergraduate medical education, graduate medical education, and doctoral and postdoctoral education in research.

Research Awards

Basic Science Research Award — recognizes a scientist, or group of scientists, who make outstanding contributions to the basic biomedical research of the Medical School.

Clinical and Health Services Research Award — recognizes faculty who make outstanding contributions in the areas of clinical and translational research and health services research.

Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research — recognizes faculty who make extraordinary national and international contributions as a research leader with pivotal discoveries that have wide-ranging impact for the advancement of scientific knowledge.

Clinical Award

Outstanding Clinician Award — recognizes exemplary performance of a practicing clinician, and can include those with outstanding service as medical program or ambulatory care unit directors, developers of clinical care management programs or new care models, and innovations in institutional quality improvement initiatives.

Innovation Award

Innovation and Commercialization Award — recognizes a faculty member, or group of faculty members, who have developed a new research method, technology or innovative service that will radically improve or transform patient health.

Service Award

Community Service Award — recognizes faculty who make outstanding contributions to the community — locally, nationally or globally.

The winners will be announced in the fall, and they will receive their awards at the annual Faculty and Staff Awards Dinner.