UMMS honors 82 faculty and staff at Dean’s Awards, education league events

January 7, 2016  //  FOUND IN: Strategy & Leadership

The University of Michigan Medical School recently celebrated outstanding faculty and staff during a pair of awards ceremonies in the Gilbert S. Omenn Atrium of the A. Alfred Taubman Biomedical Science Research Building.

2015 Faculty and Staff Awards Dinner

On Nov. 4, Medical School Dean James O. Woolliscroft, M.D., hosted the annual Faculty and Staff Awards Dinner. Eighteen faculty and three staff members were honored with Dean’s Awards for their service to the school’s tripartite mission. Faculty awards were presented to outstanding educators, investigators and clinicians in 9 categories. In addition, awards were presented to a top administrator, professional staff member and support staff member.

2015 Dean’s Awards for Faculty

Basic Science Research Award: Cristen J. Willer, Ph.D.

Clinical and Health Services Research Award: Julie C. Lumeng, M.D., Albert P. Rocchini, M.D., and Sanjay Saint, M.D., M.P.H.

Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research: Eric R. Fearon, M.D., Ph.D.

Innovation and Commercialization Award: James A. Shayman, M.D.

Kaiser Permanente Award for Excellence in Pre-clinical Teaching: Audrey F. Seasholtz, Ph.D.

Kaiser Permanente Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching: Maya M. Hammoud, M.D.

Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Care: Fred Morady, M.D., and Patricia L. Robertson, M.D.

Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education: Henry D. Appelman, M.D.

Medical School Community Service Award: M.E. Michele Heisler, M.D., M.P.A. (Global), and Paula Anne Newman-Casey, M.D., M.S. (Local)

Outstanding Clinician Award: Kevin M. Chan, M.D., Avraham Eisbruch, M.D., Jon A. Jacobson, M.D., Daniel R. Kaul, M.D., and R. Kevin Reynolds, M.D.

2014 Dean’s Awards for Staff

Administrator of the Year: Masada (Musty) Habhab

Professional Staff of the Year: Mark Salamango

Support Staff of the Year: James Musgrave

More information on the Dean’s Awards recipients, as well as photos and videos from the ceremony, can be found here.

The League of Educational Excellence 2015 Induction Dinner

On Dec. 1, Dean Woolliscroft and Senior Associate Dean for Education and Global Initiatives Joseph C. Kolars, M.D., honored 61 of the school’s most-accomplished teachers with induction into The League of Educational Excellence — an honorary society established in 2013 to recognize instructional faculty for their extraordinary contributions to teaching and inspiring the next generation of Michigan physicians and scientists.

The League of Educational Excellence 2015 inductees are:

David C. Belmonte, M.D.

Dale L. Bixby, M.D., Ph.D.

Mary C. Blazek, M.D.

Devin L. Brown, M.D.

Henry A. Buchtel, Ph.D.

Heather L. Burrows, M.D., Ph.D.

Michelle S. Caird, M.D.

Michele M. Carney, M.D.

Praveen Dayalu, M.D.

Dee E. Fenner, M.D.

Sara Figueroa, M.D.

Scott Flanders, M.D.

Kristina M. Gallagher, M.D.

Larry D. Gruppen, Ph.D.

Joel J. Heidelbaugh, M.D.

Yolanda R. Helfrich, M.D.

Ronald B. Hirschl, M.D.

Peter F. Hitchcock, Ph.D.

Joseph House, M.D.

Teresa L. Jacobs, M.D.

Reshma Jagsi, M.D., D.Phil.

Ronald J. Koenig, M.D., Ph.D.

Steven M. Leber, M.D., Ph.D.

Jules Lin, M.D.

Maclovio J. Lopez, M.D., Ph.D.

Michael P. Lukela, M.D.

Rajesh S. Mangrulkar, M.D.

Jonathan Maybaum, Ph.D.

Shahzad I. Mian, M.D.

Daniel E. Michele, Ph.D.

Suzanne Moenter, Ph.D.

Seetha U. Monrad, M.D.

Helen Kang Morgan, M.D.

Richard M. Mortensen, M.D., Ph.D.

Terrance Patrick Murphy, M.D.

Daniel D. Myers, Jr., D.V.M.

Lena M. Napolitano, M.D.

Norah N. Naughton, M.D.

Bruce Palfey, Ph.D.

Vikas Parekh, M.D.

Hemant Parmar, M.D.

Joel F. Platt, M.D.

Scott Pletcher, Ph.D.

Theodore Z. Polley, Jr., M.D.

Rishindra M. Reddy, M.D.

Margaret A. Riley, M.D.

Pamela G. Rockwell, D.O.

Sally Santen, M.D., Ph.D.

John Schmidt, M.D.

Audrey F. Seasholtz, Ph.D.

Linda M. Selwa, M.D.

Anita Valanju Shelgikar, M.D.

Cemal Sozener, M.D.

Daniel H. Teitelbaum, M.D.

William J. Weadock, M.D.

Brent C. Williams, M.D.

John A. Williams, M.D., Ph.D.

J. Stuart Wolf, Jr., M.D.

Margaret Wolff, M.D.

James O. Woolliscroft, M.D.

Francis P. Worden, M.D.

Including the inaugural class of 2013, there are 158 League of Educational Excellence faculty. A roster can be found here.