4 U-M health researchers elected to National Academy of Medicine

October 20, 2015  //  FOUND IN: Our Employees,

On Monday in Washington, D.C., the National Academy of Medicine announced which prominent health researchers from around the country had been elected to its ranks, and formally inducted those elected last year.

Four U-M faculty, including two from the Medical School and one each from the schools of Nursing and Dentistry, are among the newly elected. They are:

  • Kathleen Cho, M.D.
  • Laurie K. McCauley, DDS, M.S., Ph.D.
  • Robert W. Neumar, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Marita G. Titler, Ph.D., RN, FAAN

Read more about them in this news announcement

The six U-M faculty who officialy became members of the NAM on Monday — an honor formerly known as membership in the Institute of Medicine — are described here.

NAM also announced the winner of a prestigious fellowship named for former U-M executive vice president for medical affairs Gilbert S. Omenn, M.D., Ph.D. This year, the honor goes to a junior U-M faculty member, James Burke, M.D., M.S. of Neurology. Read more here.

The Institute of Medicine is still responsible for convening committees that evaluate evidence and issue reports to guide American medicine and policy. It has just named the members of a new group that will focus on socioeconomic status measurement in Medicare, including John Ayanian, M.D., MPP, director of the Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation. Read more about this committee.