Medical School faculty and staff to receive Dean’s Awards

September 16, 2015  //  FOUND IN: Announcements, Strategy & Leadership,

Each year, the Medical School recognizes exceptional accomplishments by faculty and staff in the areas of teaching, research, clinical care, innovation, community service and administration.

This year’s honorees — 18 faculty and three staff members — were nominated by colleagues, and selected to receive Dean’s Awards for their commitment to the school’s mission of excellence in education, research and patient care.

They will be recognized Nov.4 at the annual Faculty and Staff Awards Dinner in the Omenn Atrium of the A. Alfred Taubman Biomedical Science Research Building.

2015 Dean’s Awards for Faculty

Basic Science Research Award

  • Cristen J. Willer, Ph.D., assistant professor of internal medicine, human genetics, and computational medicine and bioinformatics

Clinical and Health Services Research Award

  • Julie C. Lumeng, M.D., associate professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases
  • Albert P. Rocchini, M.D., Macdonald Dick II, M.D., Research Professor of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases
  • Sanjay K. Saint, M.D., M.P.H., George Dock Collegiate Professor of Internal Medicine

Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award in Biomedical Research

  • Eric R. Fearon, M.D., Ph.D., Emanuel N. Maisel Professor of Oncology, professor of internal medicine, pathology and human genetics

Innovation and Commercialization Award

  • James A. Shayman, M.D., Agnes C. and Frank D. McKay Professor of Pharmacology and Internal Medicine

Kaiser Permanente Awards for Excellence in Teaching

  • Audrey F. Seasholtz, Ph.D. (pre-clinical), professor of biological chemistry and research professor, Molecular and Behavioral Neuroscience Institute
  • Maya M. Hammoud, M.D. (clinical), professor of obstetrics and gynecology, and learning health sciences

Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education

  • Henry D. Appelman, M.D., M.R. Abell Professor of Surgical Pathology, professor of pathology

Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Care

  • Fred Morady, M.D., McKay Professor of Cardiovascular Disease, professor of internal medicine
  • Patricia L. Robertson, M.D., professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases, and neurology

Medical School Community Service Award

  • M.E. Michele Heisler, M.D. (global), professor of internal medicine
  • Paula Anne Newman-Casey, M.D., M.S. (local), assistant professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences

Outstanding Clinician Award

  • Kevin M. Chan, M.D., professor of internal medicine
  • Avraham Eisbruch, M.D., Newman Family Professor of Radiation Oncology
  • Jon A. Jacobson, M.D., professor of radiology
  • Daniel R. Kaul, M.D., associate professor of internal medicine
  • R. Kevin Reynolds, M.D., George W. Morley Collegiate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

2015 Dean’s Awards for Staff

Administrator of the Year

  • Masada (Musty) Habhab, chief administrator, Department of Internal Medicine

Professional Staff of the Year

  • Mark Salamango, clinical decision support lead, Department of Emergency Medicine

Support Staff of the Year

  • James Musgrave, student administrative assistant, graduate programs in Cellular and Molecular Biology, Immunology and Cancer Biology

In addition, the following staff have received honorable mention awards:

Administrator of the Year Honorable Mention

  • Bradley R. Densen, administrative director, Office of Medical Student Education
  • Teri A. Grieb, Ph.D., senior director of research, Medical School Office of Research, and managing director, Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research

Professional Staff of the Year Honorable Mention

  • Jennifer A. Miner, research area specialist senior, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Support Staff of the Year Honorable Mention

  • Katie Grode, administrative assistant senior healthcare, Department of Family Medicine
  • Martha Lucza, administrative assistant intermediate healthcare, Division of Anatomical Science
  • Susan Sessions, administrative assistant senior healthcare, Department of Anesthesiology